? Jade PMPS 109..skipped last night...now what????

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jill & Jade, Jul 1, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Hello....last night she was low and I didn't shoot, this morning was good so I did. Numbers rose as should ...I took her +10 (83) +11 (98) I am assuming that her nadir was so late because of the skipped dose last night? 10 hours in seems pretty late in the cycle and she is rising again. Her usual shoot time is in 45 minutes and I'm fairly certain that she will not be over 150 by then. Do I stall? And if I do and she doesn't go up to an acceptable number, do I skip again? Is that dangerous for her? Whatever advice is greatly appreciated, I'm starting to get that shaky , panicky feeling that I get when I'm nervous about when to shoot and when not to.....thanks!
    Her pmps is only 109....I don't know what to do or how long to stall before making the no shoot decision,and if that is going to harm her 2 night in a row...


    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-147-not-going-to-shoot.197706/#post-2212616
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2018
    Reason for edit: new concern
  2. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    @Chris & China
     
  3. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    It will not hurt her to skip but:

    Have you fed her yet? If not, test again now

    How do you feel about being up as long as necessary tonight? Do you have plenty of supplies? Strips, HC food, etc?
     
  4. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Hi and thank you as I know you have your own stuff happening...I tested about 5 minutes ago and that's when I got the 109. I have not fed her.
     
  5. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I have the supplies...etc..but I know her ears are getting sensitive and so is she.
     
  6. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    We need to find a dose you can reliably give her every 12 hours without having to stall, skip or worry yourself to death.

    Why don't you go ahead and skip tonight and try .5 tomorrow?

    If you can, would you do me a favor and take a picture of your syringe where you're shooting? Just need to make sure about something
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  7. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Ok. I'm going to feed her and then I'll take a picture and upload it.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  8. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    This is a whole unit syringe, so just below the 1 unit line... this pic being the 1 unit mark
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I do have the .5 unit syringes, but found these to be a bit more sturdy when I’m trying to find the inbetween spot.
     
  11. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    This would be .75 on the half unit needle
     

    Attached Files:

    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  12. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK good.... I thought so but just wanted to make sure....we've had some crazy things happen when people thought they were giving X and later we found out they were really giving Y!
     
    Amanda & Shmee and Jill & Jade like this.
  13. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I'm sitting here bawling again. In part out of frustration that I can't seem to help Jade and in part with relief that I found this place and you and the people that have helped me. My sincerest of thanks. I do not like this roller coaster one little bit but it helps to know I'm not on it alone. Tomorrow I will start .5 units and start a new thread. Another day. I really hope I'm not causing harm to any of her organs. I feel defeated every time something goes wrong.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2018
    Amanda & Shmee and LizzieInTexas like this.
  14. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    No....you're not!!

    High numbers take months to do the serious damage we hear about. As long as she hasn't had any problem with ketones, she's actually spending most of her time below renal threshold which is helping to save her kidneys (which are the weakest organ in all cats but especially in diabetics)

    Keeping her below about 250 as much as possible will really help and you're doing that almost all the time.....and the few little blips above that didn't last long enough to worry about.
     
  15. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I hope she doesn't have ketone issues, how would I know if she does? I suspect, from what I've read, she'd be acting much differently. I don't want to jinx her or myself but her behavior has always been the same. The 5 "P's" are all good...thankfully. If not for the test results, I wouldn't know that anything was off with her.
     
  16. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yeah, if she was throwing ketones, she'd look and act like she was sick.....as long as she's acting like a "normal" cat, don't worry.

    You can always get some urine ketone test strips to test for ketones at home. You just have to catch her when she pee's​
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  17. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Do human ones work for kitties also?
     
  18. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yes
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page