jerry AMPS 405 +2 356 +6 167 +7 191 +10 297

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
yesterday

Jerry (and I) had a fantastic day yesterday. So lovely to see him feel good. Well we are now on the bounce. It will be interesting to see how long this one lasts. He seems to be getting over his bounces faster and back down to the lovely blues/greens quicker these days.:)
 
And we're back in the blue!!!! woot hoot:D:D:D:D He is doing SO well... just keep waiting for the bubble to burst...I may just be jinxing myself. Ha ha
 
Since Jerry didn't make it under 149 MG today do I go ahead and increase the dose again back to 1.75 IU this PM or hold the 1.5 IU we started on last PM?
 
You would stick to the 1.5 units under SLGS.

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

With Lantus, you want to keep the doses as consistent as possible unless a change is warranted.


He is doing great today! Nice to see that bounce clear so quickly. I hope those number come down to a nice yellow and blue in the next cycle or two.
 
You would stick to the 1.5 units under SLGS.

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

With Lantus, you want to keep the doses as consistent as possible unless a change is warranted.


He is doing great today! Nice to see that bounce clear so quickly. I hope those number come down to a nice yellow and blue in the next cycle or two.
Thank you for this. For some reason I find it confusing...I read it, it makes sense but it doesn't stick. I was very happy to see the drop into the blues. It was a pleasant surprise it happened so fast. We'll see how he does with the next cycle. He has come on so much since I've started using the expertise on here. It is so encouraging
 
Back
Top