Jerry's AMPS HI +2 546 +4 576 +7 505 PMPS 454.

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
previously

Jerry was doing well and since we had that low of 59 on 4/20 I reduced his dose to 1.00IU and his numbers are now absolutely awful. I tried to be patient and waited 4 cycles in the hope that he may stabilize but no such luck. This morning AMPS he was HI so I went ahead and increased his dose back up to 1.25 IU +2 he's at 546. Although its gone down he is still in the black.
I have no idea why his numbers would change so dramatically... completely bummed.
 
Is he still getting the Royal Canin Fiber dry food? It might be helpful to pay attention to what he's eating and keep a record on your spreadsheet.

You did the right thing by going back up to 1.25
 
Is he still getting the Royal Canin Fiber dry food? It might be helpful to pay attention to what he's eating and keep a record on your spreadsheet.

You did the right thing by going back up to 1.25
Thank you Chris. Yes he still gets the fiber response dry food. I really can't stop this as it would cause a problem with his BM's. I have reduced the amount to the bare minimum. He gets about a quarter cup daily as of now but I may have to increase this slightly if he begins to have issues. I give him a half a can of FF pate mornings and half evenings. Today he is ravenous so he's had a bit more one can so far.
 
Have you ever tried something like Mirilax for constipation?

You test more than enough to do Tight Regulation instead of SLGS....I think it would be better for Jerry to increase every 6 cycles if he's not getting down to better numbers
 
I actually spoke to the vet about this and although it works for some cats she diesn't think it would be as effective for Jerry. I'm loathe to add another issue for him so I'll just try to get the amount as low as possible.
 
.
Have you ever tried something like Mirilax for constipation?

You test more than enough to do Tight Regulation instead of SLGS....I think it would be better for Jerry to increase every 6 cycles if he's not getting down to better numbers[/QUOTE
Someone else mentioned this before. I thought I could only do TR if there was no dry food in the equation. I did change his last dose after 4 cycles as I had had enough of those really high numbers and nothing seemed to be changing. I'll see what happens with the increase and decide what is best once I see the trend. I'll do another read on the protocol and perhaps I will change over.

Its amazing how fast things change, I was a very happy momma a few days ago feeling as if we were making progress and not this. I know its a marathon and not a sprint and I constantly remind myself but it is SO discouraging. I feel as if I failed my little man.
 
Try not to get discouraged. Sometimes you just have to go back up before you can come back down. You're not failing him. That fact that you're here and testing him proves that. He is lucky to have you.
 
Try not to get discouraged. Sometimes you just have to go back up before you can come back down. You're not failing him. That fact that you're here and testing him proves that. He is lucky to have you.
Oh thank you. I know I'm doing everything I can its just hard to see those BGs and see him not feel good. Anyway, onwards and upwards...i'll get him there again. Thanks
 
You're right.....with dry in the picture, you should stay with SLGS



I don't know how she can make a blanket statement like that if it hasn't been tried
Well I haven't pushed on it either to be honest. I didn't want to have him all stopped up as well as dealing with diabetes. He has always preferred dry food although I always made sure they got more wet than dry. It is something I'll have to consider though.
 
It is something I'll have to consider though.

Yeah I'd give it a try ….as long as there's high carb food in the picture, it's kind of like trying to put out a fire while you're still pouring gasoline on it. It just makes it harder.

You could go ahead and get some Miralax (it's OTC) and start with 1/8th teaspoon (it's a tasteless powder so can be mixed with food or water) and see how he does.....gradually reduce the amount of the dry food (and possibly increase the Miralax) and see if he can be maintained with just the Miralax
 
Back
Top