Ketones present

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kate & Toby, Oct 16, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kate & Toby

Kate & Toby Member

I've just tested Toby routinely as I do most days and he has ketones, I'd noticed extra drinking today but apart from that hes his normal happy self. I've reduced his insulin the last few days as trying to combat the bounce. I know I need to feed, keep hydrated and give insulin to overcome ketones, weve been here a number of times, I just dont know if I should take him to the emergency vets.

This is my worst nightmare.

Attached Files:

2. Karen&Rocket

Karen&Rocket Member

I'm sorry no one has answered yet - I would err on the side of caution - I'm not an expert here, but I've heard that anything over "trace" needs attention. Can you add the 911 tag to your title?

Kate & Toby likes this.
  3. Karen&Rocket

Karen&Rocket Member

Also with the recent DKA I would be extra extra cautious. I'm sorry you're going through this.

4. Kate & Toby

Kate & Toby Member

Thanks Kes, appreciate the input. I've my little boy asleep and I'm home alone so would need to call a friend or wake him up in order to take Toby to vets, (never straight forward is it).
    Hes showing absolutely no signs, hes eaten well tonight, been drinking, been playful and happy, other times hes had DKA he has been so very poorly I wish I could test again, but that means waiting for another wee. Agghhh.... I'm torn/stuck

5. Karen&Rocket

Karen&Rocket Member

Hopefully someone who is experienced with ketones can chime in here - or can tag someone who is.

Kate & Toby likes this.
  6. Nan & Amber (GA)

Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member