Kitty & I's first day of home testing and results.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sev, Nov 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Drawing the blood is going well. No problems.

    As posted in a previous thread the vet wanted me to increase from 1 to 2 units.
    I am currently in week 3 at 1 unit of prozinc. I am supposed to back to the vet on Sat morning. However as I have not changed the dosage as of yet there may be no sense in doing so.
    I will continue to update throughout the day. I will just continue to edit the first post as I test.
    The next full feeding time is around 6:30 PM.

    7:00 AMPS 433 0+
    7:10 1 unit given
    +1 505
    +2 421
    +3 397
    +4 353
    +5 289
    +6 298
    +7 291
    +8 307
    +9 331
    +10 350
    +0 422 6:10PM Time to feed and shoot.
    +1 535
    +2 407
     
  2. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    From what I've seen so far, you're ready to take it up to 1.5 units at next shot.

    And its OK to test every 2 hours when doing a curve for dose evaluation. The +6 is the one we most want to see, as that is often the lowest point in the cycle (nadir0.

    For a "mini" curve after the cat is stable and on maintenance, folks will test every 3 hours; these may be done to make sure nothing has changed in how the cat is handling insulin.
     
  3. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    I think I will do a full run today. Just so you guys can look over the data.
     
  4. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    PS - you can hit Reply (at the bottom of the posts), rather than Quote, to respond, unless there are specific details you want to highlight. And it works to delete the parts you don't need to quote. I usually put in "..." when I'm pulling out part of a post.
     
  5. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Generally on other forums I quote to respond to a specific individual to show who the reply it is directed at.
     
  6. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Looks like the nadir is 289. +6 went to 298

    So how is this looking for Kitty so far??
     
  7. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Glad the testing is going well. Welcome to the Vampire Club!

    This might have been mentioned in your previous thread. In general, when an increase is needed, we suggest .5 increase if the kitty is in high numbers and .25 if in lower numbers (like 200-300 range). Depending on the rest of your curve, an increase could be needed. Your nadir should be coming up around +6, but there is that Every Cat is Different thing that can mean a cat surfs along from 6-9 hours after the shot and might even go down. Your data today will be a big help in seeing how he is generally responding to the ProZinc.

    If your vet wants you to return so he can get bg levels, you might just send him your spreadsheet with today's curve. These numbers should be more valuable (and accurate) than numbers he gets under stress.

    Just saw your new post. Considering the 20% variance in meters, the +5 and +6 are about the same. Let's see what the rest of the day holds.
     
  8. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    +7 291
     
  9. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Well, looks like a bit of a surf. And a nice drop from the amps.
     
  10. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    You're doing great!

    I popped the numbers so far into an Excel spreadsheet and set up columns for the 80% - 120% variance the FDA allows, then graphed it. It makes a good visual means for interpretation. Have you got that at home? Or would you like me to upload it for you?
     
  11. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    And can we help you set up a spreadsheet to keep track of your numbers, for you and us and the vet?
     
  12. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    The help would be great.
    A couple of other members have sent links for me to work with.
    I do have a Google account.
     
  13. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    I've got nothing here.
    I use Open Office rather than Microsoft. Its all compatible though.
    That would be great!
    Thank you!!
     
  14. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Sign onto your google account and search google docs for templates. In templates, search for FDMB spreadsheet or FD spreadsheet. See if you can get it that way.

    If not , try these directions: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130

    If you have problems, send me a pm.
     
  15. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    See what you think of this

    Its just 1 day's results, to see how your curve is going so far. It even included the graph.
     
  16. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    @ Sue and Oliver.
    Nice spread sheet.
    Now what do I do with it?
     
  17. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    i believe you're going to make a copy of the template or do a file save as to save it under your account.
     
  18. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    I clicked use this template. Now its saved in my account.
    Now I have to figure out how to use it.
     
  19. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Checking it out.
    Looks good.
    Do the values change as you enter more data?
     
  20. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You got it? Great! Change the title to Kitty's SS, choose share with anyone with the link. Then copy it into your favorites or bookmark it.

    Then choose the Share button over to the right. When you choose Publish, it should bring up a blue highlighted url. Copy that and go back to the FDMB board. Go to User Control Panel, then Profile and then edit signature. Paste the url into your signature box and choose submit at the bottom. That should put it on every one of your posts.

    This is kind of complicated to do typing out the directions. If you want me to just go through the steps with you over the phone, I can do it later this afternoon. Just pm me.
     
  21. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    I suspect you'd have to modify the chart to extend the ranges over new values- at least thats how Excel works. I haven't done a lot of document creating in Google Docs. The original was done in Excel and uploaded/imported into my account.
     
  22. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Well I know nothing about Excel. :shock:
     
  23. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Thanks Sue.

    I'm on Eastern Standard.
     
  24. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Looks like his sugar is starting to swing up.
    However he did grab a little snack about 1/2 hour before the +9 test.
     
  25. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    You won't break it if you experiment with it. And I have the original if you scramble the original.

    Clicking on a menu item may bring up a list of things you might do.
    Some things, like spreadsheet rows and columns, or graphic images, or charts can be dragged wider/narrower/taller/shorter.
    Right-clicking can bring up things to explore too.

    if you click on a cell with a forumla, Google Docs may show the entry in the lower right corner of the screen.

    Otpions to explore - download the file to your PC and see how it looks in Open Office and explore it from there.

    If you can think of something you'd want to do, most likely others have too and something is available in the software to do it.
     
  26. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Alright guys.

    Whats does experience tell you?
    Do I move it to 1.5 units tonight.
    Remember I am into 3 weeks now at 1 unit.
     
  27. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Yes, move it up to 1.5; you've got a good 150 points Kitty can drop and still be safe.

    And I extended the ranges on your day's spreadsheet for Kitty, so if you fill in the numbers for just the reading, the other columns should fill in and they should graph.
     
  28. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Where do I find it?
    I figured it was the link you previously posted.
     
  29. Hope + (((Baby)))GA

    Hope + (((Baby)))GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Ditto 1.5 tonight.
     
  30. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think you have room to up to 1.5. Try to get a nadir around that +5, +6 time to see if he moves down midcycle with the new dose.

    I am home for the night if you want to call about the spreadsheet.
     
  31. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Rut Row.
    Bounce back to 535
     
  32. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I would still do the 1.5. Hope his preshot numbers calm down.
     
  33. Sev,
    When you see a number that far out of whack, sometimes it's worth it to test again, just in case the strip was faulty, for instance. Out of 50 relion strips, I usually had one or two that were "off" for some reason.
    Carl
     
  34. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Ok.
    It went back down to 407.
    Family just arrived with a dog. So I guess I am done for the night.
     
  35. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Day 2 of Operation Ear Perforation.

    6:45 AMPS 482 +0
    6:50 1.5 units shot.
    +1 471
    +2 377
    +3 256 Second test +10 min 273.
    +4 233
    +5 203
    +6 317
    +7 358
    +8 495
    +9 455
    +10 523
    PMPS 504 +0
     
  36. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You may want to figure that today's figures could be wacky, if you have guests and they have a dog. Stress raises bg levels and he may be a little stressed. :mrgreen:
     
  37. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Nah. Kitty and the dog have met before. The dogs beneath her notice.
    Now Blue on the other hand is a different matter. Very stress. Staying low to the ground and moving rapid rates of speed. :shock: :D

    Just have to keep kitty out of the dry dog food.
     
  38. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Hmmm. Went from 377 to 256 in an hour.
    He has been snaking as well.
     
  39. Hope + (((Baby)))GA

    Hope + (((Baby)))GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Hope he slows down.......he's been dropping 100 points an hr.
     
  40. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Well know shortly.
     
  41. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Ok +4 is 233.
     
  42. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    That looks fine - not too fast, not too slow.
     
  43. Hope + (((Baby)))GA

    Hope + (((Baby)))GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    That's good,,,,,,did he snack at all?
     
  44. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    He has been snacking periodically.
     
  45. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Sev

    here is the single day spreadsheet I started yesterday.
     
  46. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    I was looking at that. Thank you.
    I was wondering how to enter more data. It appears to be read only.
     
  47. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Google Docs seems to lock the file if someone else is working on it.

    I've added today's data so far, except for the 2nd test 10 minutes after a previous one.
     
  48. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Thats what I was wondering.
    Well he bumped back up to 317 @ +6
     
  49. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    You just have to ride out the day ... probably gritting your teeth if the numbers don't look wonderful (been there, done that, do that, *sigh*)

    Some cats on ProZinc have early nadirs; also if the snacking is outpacing the insulin taking effect, he may bobble a bit.

    Plus, there's something we call "new dose wonkiness". Some cats seem very sensitive to dose changes and initially have an erratic reaction. ProZinc, for example, may take as much as 45 days to hit a stable response pattern to a consistent dose.
     
  50. I'm thinking it was a pretty good curve, and that the rise at +6 is more related to food than anything else. It could also be that he is going to be one of those kitties that nadirs early, like Bob did (+5ish).
    The other thing, if this were a "typical" curve for him, is that with a low point of 200 or so, there's room for the dose to be taken up a notch. If you see this pattern repeat a few times.
    You're doing a super job with all the tests you have been able to get! He must be a good patient.

    Carl
     
  51. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    +10 swung back up to 535.
     
  52. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    He is plotting his revenge. :shock:
    The ears a looking a bit ragged.
     
  53. Hope + (((Baby)))GA

    Hope + (((Baby)))GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Sometimes, when you do an increase, the cat may go up before actually coming down in numbers. Patience is needed ;-)
     
  54. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    11-23-2011

    7:00 AMPS 433 0+
    7:10 1 unit given
    +1 505
    +2 421
    +3 397
    +4 353
    +5 289
    +6 298
    +7 291
    +8 307
    +9 331
    +10 350
    +0 422 6:10PM Time to feed and shoot.
    +1 535
    +2 407

    11-24-2011

    6:45 AMPS 482 +0
    6:50 1.5 units shot.
    +1 471
    +2 377
    +3 256 Second test +10 min 273.
    +4 233
    +5 203
    +6 317
    +7 358
    +8 495
    +9 455
    +10 523
    PMPS 504 +0 1.5 units.
    +1 536
    +2 520
    +3 502
    +4 379
    +5 309
    +6 396

    11-25-2011
    7:00AM
    AMPS 553 +0
    561 +1
    446 +2
    320 +3
    310 +3.5
    354 +6
    424 +7
    505 +8
    554 +10
    PMPS 597 +0
     
  55. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Better early cycle but fast rise at the end. It doesn't show your dose at pmps. Did you go with 1.5? I would stick with that dose for a couple more cycles.
     
  56. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Oops. Yup 1.5.
     
  57. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Are you testing for ketones? You want to be sure you stay on top of that also.
     
  58. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Not yet.
    I do have the strips.
    How many times a day am I looking at for that?
     
  59. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    While at these high numbers, I would test daily.
     
  60. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    The challenge is getting the sample when its fresh.

    Best time to try is roughly 20 minutes after eating, when food movement through the digestive tract stimulates output.

    Updated the 2 daily chart/graphs for you.
     
  61. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Cool. Thank you.

    Well the difference between day 1 and 2 doesn't look good.
     
  62. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Hang in there - it takes a while for the dose to "settle", ie the cat to get used to it.
     
  63. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    I am going to take 1 more reading for the night to see if the previous trends for the nadir continue.
    Got to give the poor cats ears a rest.
     
  64. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Neosporin ointment (not cream) with pain relief helps reduce the annoyance of pricking, plus may help the blood bead up for testing.
     
  65. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Interesting. Would not have thought of that.
    Thanks!

    Calling it quits at +6 for the evening.
     
  66. Well, the pattern seems to be he same for both cycles. He drops between +2 and +3, and seems to nadir around +5. No matter the numbers, the patterns are very important.

    Carl
     
  67. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
  68. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    He started pretty high today. ?????
     
  69. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Can you call me this am and let's get the spreadsheet up? It is possible that you need to go down in dose rather than up but it is so hard to tell without looking at the data in one place. He could be rebounding: http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Somogyi_rebound
     
  70. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    I'll see what I can do.
    I have family here at the moment.
     
  71. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Is hers the one with the three numbers - the variance? That is really hard to interpret. (Valuable info for you but not easy for us) The ss is a much better visual for a quick look at your numbers and particularly patterns. It should only take 15 minutes to set up.
     
  72. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Are you asking about the chart BJM set up? Or the Data I am posting.

    A fifteen minute job huh?? You obviously have no idea what you are dealing with. :D
     
  73. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    I just got done making turkey stock.
    Would feeding the turkey from it to Kitty be unadvised?
    I did add Carrots, onion and celery. However there is not much of it in there.
    If figure it has to be very low on carbs.
     
  74. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Onions not good. Do you have just a plain piece of turkey he can have? That is really what started this whole low carb thing. Someone fed Thanksgiving turkey to their diabetic cat and his numbers went down.
     
  75. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    NO!

    Onion can be fatal; it causes methemoglobenemia (not sure of spelling!).
     
  76. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Thank you!!
    Thats why I asked first.
     
  77. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Sev

    I added the standard spreadsheet page and format to Kitty's spreadsheet Check my data copying!
     
  78. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It looks great, BJ, but can Sev edit/own it? I have tried to figure a way that I can set up a ss for someone without being the "owner" and just let them have editing priviledges. If you have found a way, please share.
     
  79. Mystery

    Mystery Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    I think if the person has an email (might have to be gmail) address they can be given editor permissions. I haven't tried it out, but the instructions seem pretty straight forward?

    http://docs.google.com/support/bin/answ ... =450744209
     
  80. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Sev

    I believe if you log in to Google Docs, go to the page, and do File, Make A Copy, the copy will be stored in your folders, not mine, and you'll be able to edit it.

    A more cumbersome option is to downloaded it, then upload it into your Google Docs account home page.

    Let me know what works.
     
  81. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Hey that looks great!!
    I really appreciate it!!
    Let see if I can figure this out. I am logged into google.
     
  82. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Oh I have turkey coming out of my ears.
    We cook it in a bag to help keep it moist and keep the nutrients in.
    So fresh cooked turkey with nothing added to it is ok then?
     
  83. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
  84. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Now, you need to publish it to the web and share it with anyone who has the link, then you'll be all set!

    Click File, Share, and select your options.
    Also click File, Publish to publish it to the web.

    Both have dialog boxes which allow you to select a variety of options.




    Edited to fix spacing and spelling!!!
     
  85. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Yes! You'd be amazed at what some cats will do for fresh cooked (or raw, depending on the cat) turkey. I neeed to pick up some to work some more with Mason.
     
  86. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    I just did the PMPS and he is heading towards 600.
    ??????????
     
  87. I would (anytime you see a number that alarms you), test again to verify it is accurate.

    I tried to look at your SS, but it still says the permissions don't allow us to see it...
    Carl
     
  88. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Can you start a new topic with your pmps and ask for input? I'd like to get some eyes on it and am afraid you won't get many people to access this thread. It's too long.
     
  89. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Try it now.
    I set it to "anybody with a link"
     
  90. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Turkey is served!!

    They wanted some Merlot with. Very demanding little creatures!! :smile:
     
  91. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    11-23-2011

    7:00 AMPS 433 0+
    7:10 1 unit given
    +1 505
    +2 421
    +3 397
    +4 353
    +5 289
    +6 298
    +7 291
    +8 307
    +9 331
    +10 350
    +0 422 6:10PM Time to feed and shoot.
    +1 535
    +2 407

    11-24-2011

    6:45 AMPS 482 +0
    6:50 1.5 units shot.
    +1 471
    +2 377
    +3 256 Second test +10 min 273.
    +4 233
    +5 203
    +6 317
    +7 358
    +8 495
    +9 455
    +10 523
    PMPS 504 +0 1.5 units.
    +1 536
    +2 520
    +3 502
    +4 379
    +5 309
    +6 396

    11-25-2011
    7:00AM
    AMPS 553 +0
    561 +1
    446 +2
    320 +3
    310 +3.5
    354 +6
    424 +7
    505 +8
    554 +10
    PMPS 597 +0
     
  92. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Are you giving the insulin at exactly 12 hour intervals? I ask because it looks like the times weren't 12 hours different.
     
  93. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    No. I have been out of sink a little on that. I am within an hour though.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page