Liane & Maxwell

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Liane Carlock Goldfarb, Jul 12, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Liane Carlock Goldfarb

Liane Carlock Goldfarb New Member

Yesterday I adopted a senior cat (9yrs) was given two cans of Fancy Feast..vial of insulin and box of needles, a sheaf of papers which mainly consisted of logs on insulin shots since 9/2016. After reading some of the records I saw where he was diagnosed 9/2016 has had two curves one in 9/2016 and again 4/2017. I was a vet tech so the insulin shots are ok but I was never exposed to a diabetic cat...after reading I wondered if people thought it was kidney disease and euthanized???? So I went on a cat diabetes site and Chris was wonderful...she gave me so much information and links, I'm old but I can learn new tricks....this old boy needs a forever home and he's found it. My home is currently like a zoo...dogs, cats and an old (30+) parrot. Everyone is healthy and happy and co-exists.
    I ordered a test meter and strips..lancets..neosporin...so that I can monitor him and not play russian roulette with his levels... Also found out they were feeding high carb food...Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers...I have the food charts and once my head stops spinning I will get the lower carb food. He is also on 3 units 2x a day of Vetsulin This is all so much...over whelming to say the least...but I can do this... Today I am setting up an appointment with my vet and see what he recommends... I can't afford crazy treatments but within reason, the initial costs have about depleted my little extra $$$ I'm on a fixed income so need to watch my spending.
    This site looks helpful...people like me...experienced diabetes moms & dads... I guess I'm lucky the shelter kept him alive from 9/2016 until yesterday..he is such a love bug...woke up with him all snuggled in my arms..and my other cat glaring at him.