Losing my mind

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by mialia, Jan 16, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mialia

mialia Member

My fuzzy was now diagnosed and began treatment over three months ago and he's still all over the map. Now I have a tough situation, I travel for a living so daily testing is impossible. I have a roommate who gets a reduced rent for giving shots twice a day but I can't ask her to also test. It's already too much to ask and I can't afford a further rent discount. She's type I though, and takes excellent care of him.

I went in to the vet recently for his 'post diagnosis checkup' and was pretty annoyed that all he really did was a blood test. Heck, I do that at home. I had to pay $50 for the honor... And all he said was "that's pretty high still (384) so let's raise him to 3IU. He was originally prescribed 2 IU but my roommate and I raised him when it was staying high to 2.5. He's been on 3 for 3 days now, and his BG is much higher. 533 today. The vet also told me to give him Glycobalance. When I mentioned I've researched cheaper options and feed him fancy feast Classic 0-2 carb food (with a raw chicken/liver blend added to help him eat and make him purry face), he shrugged as if to say I was dead wrong. But I couldn't afford glycobalance even if it was recommended anywhere else (which it doesn't seem to be).

I've spent countless hours online here and elsewhere trying to figure out what to do now. I live in the middle of nowhere, so another vet isn't an option. There is a VCA near but I HATE VCA. They've treated my pets so awfully at two other locations I won't ever go back. So, it's up to me at home. I try to test each day I'm home one or two times, but I just have no clue what I'm doing. I spend more time crying than I do anything else.