? Luna 7/26 Low amps preshot 103

K8&Luna

Member Since 2019
Hi,
My two-year-old locked my cat in a room and I didn't notice all night, so when I went to check her blood this morning, it was much lower than usual. It was only 103 and usually it is near 300. I figured it was because she didn't get a chance to eat at all last night. I haven't given her insulin yet and was reading over the Forum on dosing guidelines and realized I shouldn't have fed, i should have tested her again first. But as I've already fed her , I'm not sure what to do. I was planning to test her in an hour, and give her insulin if it was higher. Is that still a good plan?

I'm currently working on switching her over to all wet food, but right now she's eating half a can of Purina DM wet, and when she's finished that about half an hour later, I give her a little bit of dry food DM for her to graze on for the rest of the day until her next shot.

Any help is appreciated!
 
Hi. Its ok! Been there, done that! There are 3 options that the dosing guidelines offer, all dependent on info you have about the cat when the pre shot is 150-200:

1) Give nothing
2) Give 10-25% of the dose
3) Feed, test in 2 hours & decide

I would also create a new thread with subject line "BG Level _____, STALLING, please help!" to get more eyes.

I see @Bron and Sheba are online & maybe can offer more assistance
 
Thanks for your help. I don't really know how she normally reacts, I've only been testing a week and the only other time she was lower was the very first time i tested. I ended up testing again an hour later and it was up to 140. I put her dry food out and gave 1 unit. I then had to go to work. I'm planning to go home at lunch (+4) and test again. I hope i did the right thing!

What does stalling mean? Waiting to give dose?
 
For today, I personally would probably skip the shot just in case and pick up as normal in the PM, I'm not sure you have enough data yet on how Luna reacts to insulin :) Don't beat yourself up over it these first lower numbers are hard to shoot without having the data on how Luna reacts at your fingertips :)

Always better safe than sorry :bighug:

Welcome to the board Kate! have an awesome Friday :D

ETA (edited to add)

I just saw that you gave a reduced dose! that is ok too! try and get a +2 just to see how Luna is managing :)
 
Hi, unfortunately I can't take a +2 as I'm at work, but i did just see her eating and drinking on my video camera, so I'm hoping she's ok. Thanks for your advice.
 
Don't you love the video cameras? I wouldn't know how to do it without mine :)! Now if we can figure out how to get a BG from afar :p!

Amanda gave great advice--be safe first & foremost! This is a marathon, not a sprint, so take your time, get to know your cats patterns & with that you will gain more confidence in what to do in different situations. What may be an ok # to shoot with one cat, may be dangerous for another. Only with time, BGs & seeing patterns will you be able to have the info you need. In the meantime, again, safety is key.

Great job this morning though! Have a great weekend!!:cool:
 
Back
Top