Luna Dental Q; amps 346, +5 161, +8 50, +8.5 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

pevsfreedom

Very Active Member
Hi all

Made it back from Oregon safely, and Luna did great while we were gone.

She's getting dental done tomorrow morning - vet said no insulin/food in morning.

I've heard dental can dramatically lower BG's. Are there any precautions I should take tomorrow PM when giving insulin? If her PMPS is lower than usual should I shoot as much? She's on 6 units and if the dental does 'help' her situation I'm worried 6 might be way too much, but I don't know. @Meya14

Today we're @ amps 346, +5 161 on 6 units.

Thanks
 
I hope you had a good time in Oregon. Welcome back and sending strong dental vetty vines for tomorrow.

The anesthesia can temporarily lower blood glucose, but it also depends what type of drug they use to induce. Neko's dental vet used alflaxalone, which is more commonly used outside of the US and just recently starting to be used inside the US. It doesn't lower BG's the same way. What I would suggest is testing Luna when you get home, then again just before PS, and posting here for help. If she is dropping into preshot, you might want to give a reduced dose. I also got the vet to give me any BG tests they've done during the day.

And it depends on what Luna has done for her dental. If she has several extractions, she may not feel like eating much. Also when you get home, give small meals, about a tsp, 20-30 minutes apart. That will help you determine how willing she is to eat and how well she's eating. And anesthesia impacts the GI system, so you don't want to give her too much at once. You might want to pick up some all meat babyfood tonight or during the day tomorrow. It's soft and mushy and easy to eat, and usually kitties love it.

My experience is that there is a bit of inflammation after a dental/extraction and it takes a few days, 10 seems to be a magic number, before you start seeing a need for less insulin. After Neko's extraction in the beginning of the year, I actually had to increase her insulin for a while after the dental. Same for this last one, but there was more at play this time.
 
Great thanks. We went to a wedding and I showed up with my camera to take pictures for fun and ended up getting like a thousand, and they're gonna pay me for them! Found my new side-business (to fund Luna!) lol.
 
Good luck with dental tomorrow. I'm sure she'll come through well. And good luck withholding breakfast tomorrow. I'm sure Luna's going to have some strong opinions on not getting fed in the morning....o_O
 
I think you got some good advice above. It really all depends, just monitor pretty closely. Her sugar might be ok or even higher in the PM after due to the skipped dose, but keep a close eye after the PM dose. If you do hit a reduction number, then reduce by 0.5U. If you hit another one, reduce again. You don't have to wait 6 cycles when you are reducing. And just be ready for any low numbers if they happen. Have some backup plan/foods as well in case she doesn't eat well after. Good luck with the dental. It's nice having a kitty without dragon breath.
 
lovely!

Ask your vet tomorrow if the anesthesia used is one which might slow gut motility - that can be the cause of the "scarf and barf" that wendy was mentioning above. Punkin had multiple anesthesias and we doled out 1 teaspoon of watered down food or baby food every 20-30 minutes afterwards. Started when he wanted to eat, and just went slow with it til several hours had passed. You don't want a kitty vomiting after dental work.

Many people skip the shot post-dental - some kitties will just plummet with the subsequent shot after anesthesia. Post and ask for help tomorrow if you need opinions on how to proceed.

Welcome home, but you could've taken the heat wave back from Oregon with you! It arrived today - highs in the 90's again. :rolleyes:
 
Thx for info. I might just skip the shot PM.

Weather was beautiful while there, mid 70's/low 80's. We got home and it was 111!
 
Hey - you've got a great home video on testing Luna in your signature line! I just noticed it. Great job. by the way, i think you mean Neosporin with pain relief in the commentary instead of vaseline.

I did the video on drawing up a dose of Lantus and wished I'd done one on shooting punkin too. You might want to do one of that sometime too.

yeah, we've had perfect weather the past week - just ideal. But today-Tuesday are supposed to be all in the 90's.:eek:
 
Hey - you've got a great home video on testing Luna in your signature line! I just noticed it. Great job. by the way, i think you mean Neosporin with pain relief in the commentary instead of vaseline.

I did the video on drawing up a dose of Lantus and wished I'd done one on shooting punkin too. You might want to do one of that sometime too.

yeah, we've had perfect weather the past week - just ideal. But today-Tuesday are supposed to be all in the 90's.:eek:

Yeah I did - I fixed it thanks. I might re-make this one in actual HD since I have the camera, this was just a laptop video I took and thought I should make a quick video lol. Hopefully it helps someone, all the vids I've seen (not yours) are like 20 minutes long with someone talking too much and they never get to the point!

I dislike rain so bring on the heat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top