? Marmalade 5/14/20 amps -292, +21/2-310, +5-229,+7-220

tonimarmalade

Member Since 2015
Really concerned late last night when her PMPS was 396 and her +2 was 321. I can’t figure out what combination of her freeze dried Primal nuggets, FF pate or medium carb wet food and insulin dosage will sustain her reasonably well in the dark greens and blues. Marje asked what my goals are. My goals are to keep her well regulated in that range. Is that realistic for her?. I am going to do a every two hour test tomorrow morning for 12 hours. Hopefully I will find nadir. I can’t decide if the 300’s are too short duration with the 1 unit I’ve been shooting or a bounce from lows I am somehow missing. How long might a bounce last?. When she drops down into mid 200’s is that an indication that she is clearing a bounce? Is that when I should feed her so she doesn’t drop too far and/or too fast. Also. Is the term “onset” used to indicate when the insulin starts to take effect? Other? I am feeling that I should give her a tad bit more than 1 unit but not quite 1.25 For a few days and feed her mini meals every two hours of her cycle for the first 8 hours (4 meals). With this rigid meal structure. I will feed no carb, low carb, or medium carb as the numbers indicate. Please advise re: this plan based on her SS. Thank you so much.
 
Don’t see any reply yer to above thread. An update MRmy’s PMPS is 333. Ugh. I will go ahead with the approximate 1.12 try since I haven’t heard from anyone.
 
Last edited:
Really concerned late last night when her PMPS was 396 and her +2 was 321. I can’t figure out what combination of her freeze dried Primal nuggets, FF pate or medium carb wet food and insulin dosage will sustain her reasonably well in the dark greens and blues. Marje asked what my goals are. My goals are to keep her well regulated in that range. Is that realistic for her?. I am going to do a every two hour test tomorrow morning for 12 hours. Hopefully I will find nadir. I can’t decide if the 300’s are too short duration with the 1 unit I’ve been shooting or a bounce from lows I am somehow missing. How long might a bounce last?. When she drops down into mid 200’s is that an indication that she is clearing a bounce? Is that when I should feed her so she doesn’t drop too far and/or too fast. Also. Is the term “onset” used to indicate when the insulin starts to take effect? Other? I am feeling that I should give her a tad bit more than 1 unit but not quite 1.25 For a few days and feed her mini meals every two hours of her cycle for the first 8 hours (4 meals). With this rigid meal structure. I will feed no carb, low carb, or medium carb as the numbers indicate. Please advise re: this plan based on her SS. Thank you so much.
I’m sorry no one got to you today. At first scan down the list, I didn’t see the “?”.

Yes, it’s very realistic to keep her regulated but it takes management to do so and that includes understanding her onset, nadir, duration and how she responds to food. It would be really helpful for you to read back through the stickys as they’ve changed since your first time here. I’d start with New to the Group.

No, the 300s do not look like short duration to me. Bounces can last a full six cycles.

Typically, you would see numbers in the green and blue range to indicate a cleared bounce but a string of flat yellow could indicate she’s getting ready to clear. Feeding the curve is usually done all the time to have it work. But, if you catch her dropping fast early in the cycle, you definitely want to slow that down with food so she doesn’t go so low.

I don’t see a need to do a curve testing every two hours. Random tests are better. We’ve also found most cats do better with foods in the 8-10% calories from carbs range.

I also believe she could have done with an increase to 1.25u. Usually, unless a cat is mostly green, they do better with increases in the 0.25u range. Since you’ve already increased, I’d hold the dose six cycles per the TR protocol and then reassess.
 
Thank you Marje. The reason I didn’t go to the 1.25 is because of those very scary low numbers when I’ve done that. I’m sure you’ve seen that she’s been back-and-forth between one and 1.25 so I thought splitting the difference might be a good idea, esp. since someone had suggested that several threads ago. . She has been on the Primal freeze dried nuggets for years only recently have Iput her back on fancy feast pate’s and other fancy feast in the medium carb range. She was very hungry yesterday and ate every bit of what I gave her but I gave her a very small meals because of the high numbers. Other times she has little interest in eating ,esp. in am when I add her allergy med pulverized, her miralax, and her Sprinkle of Cosequin. . If I top the moistened food with a little Forta Flora she usually eats it . When I have to not feed her for the 3 to 4 hours prior to the night shot, she wants to eat and her sweet eyes keep telling me she is hungry. This morning she has been bugging me since about 530. I just tested her at 6:46 and she was at 283. She ate every bit of food in her bowl that I left late last night. She gets her shot at 7:30 so I will test her again around 725. You may not remember that she has resorption disease and I think she lost one of her teeth several days ago. I plan to get in touch with the vet again today as they are not around on the weekend. Maybe her teeth are the issue what’s these high numbers. I will try your 8 to 10 carbs suggestion with her food today and see how that goes by testing her a bit after she eats each meal. time. Now I’m going to read the stickies that you recommended. Again, thank you for your help.she is our “Gracie.”
 
Thank you Marje. The reason I didn’t go to the 1.25 is because of those very scary low numbers when I’ve done that. I’m sure you’ve seen that she’s been back-and-forth between one and 1.25 so I thought splitting the difference might be a good idea, esp. since someone had suggested that several threads ago. . She has been on the Primal freeze dried nuggets for years only recently have Iput her back on fancy feast pate’s and other fancy feast in the medium carb range. She was very hungry yesterday and ate every bit of what I gave her but I gave her a very small meals because of the high numbers. Other times she has little interest in eating ,esp. in am when I add her allergy med pulverized, her miralax, and her Sprinkle of Cosequin. . If I top the moistened food with a little Forta Flora she usually eats it . When I have to not feed her for the 3 to 4 hours prior to the night shot, she wants to eat and her sweet eyes keep telling me she is hungry. This morning she has been bugging me since about 530. I just tested her at 6:46 and she was at 283. She ate every bit of food in her bowl that I left late last night. She gets her shot at 7:30 so I will test her again around 725. You may not remember that she has resorption disease and I think she lost one of her teeth several days ago. I plan to get in touch with the vet again today as they are not around on the weekend. Maybe her teeth are the issue what’s these high numbers. I will try your 8 to 10 carbs suggestion with her food today and see how that goes by testing her a bit after she eats each meal. time. Now I’m going to read the stickies that you recommended. Again, thank you for your help.she is our “Gracie.”
 
Thank you Marje. The reason I didn’t go to the 1.25 is because of those very scary low numbers when I’ve done that. I’m sure you’ve seen that she’s been back-and-forth between one and 1.25 so I thought splitting the difference might be a good idea, esp. since someone had suggested that several threads ago. . She has been on the Primal freeze dried nuggets for years only recently have Iput her back on fancy feast pate’s and other fancy feast in the medium carb range. She was very hungry yesterday and ate every bit of what I gave her but I gave her a very small meals because of the high numbers. Other times she has little interest in eating ,esp. in am when I add her allergy med pulverized, her miralax, and her Sprinkle of Cosequin. . If I top the moistened food with a little Forta Flora she usually eats it . When I have to not feed her for the 3 to 4 hours prior to the night shot, she wants to eat and her sweet eyes keep telling me she is hungry. This morning she has been bugging me since about 530. I just tested her at 6:46 and she was at 283. She ate every bit of food in her bowl that I left late last night. She gets her shot at 7:30 so I will test her again around 725. You may not remember that she has resorption disease and I think she lost one of her teeth several days ago. I plan to get in touch with the vet again today as they are not around on the weekend. Maybe her teeth are the issue what’s these high numbers. I will try your 8 to 10 carbs suggestion with her food today and see how that goes by testing her a bit after she eats each meal. time. Now I’m going to read the stickies that you recommended. Again, thank you for your help.she is our “Gracie.”
Toni.....I will respond here but then I’d ask you start a new thread for any further discussion. Thank you.

The reason you had those scary low numbers on 1.25u before wasn’t due to the dose. It was because she was clearing a bounce and she got way ahead of you quickly. Bounce clearing cycles can do that and you really have to be on top of them. Normally, we do say if it’s a failed reduction, go back to the last good dose as long as the last good dose didn’t get them into the 30s. But that’s assuming that one realized the reduction failed pretty soon. She’s been on 1u for some time now with no real action except one cycle which was, again, a bounce clearing cycle.

Can I guarantee she won’t go low again on 1.25u? She probably will but if you are managing the cycles correctly, then if she does, it’s likely because she really needs the dose reduction. But....let’s just see how she does with just fattening the dose.

The windows of time before a shot where it’s best to not feed is two hours....not 3-4. So if she’s really hungry, why not a very small snack of some freeze dried food that is very low carb? That should interfere with her cycle and, if it does, then you’ll know and can make adjustments.

You can see how she does with feeding every two hours but that might be spread out a little too much. I found with Levemir with Gracie that I had to feed at AMPS, +2, +3, +6, and +7 to work with the action of the insulin. ECID so Marmy might need a different schedule than that. I fed early in the cycle because Gracie could get extended duration and drop so I wanted her in a better place for onset at +4. Then feeding at +6 and +7 helped the curve and was before nadir.
 
Back
Top