Marvin isn't responding to increased dose

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Marshmallow's Mom, Jul 15, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marshmallow's Mom

Marshmallow's Mom Member

Hello,

I'm new to this - Marvin was diagnosed in late May. I have been testing using the Contour Next EZ monitor. We started at 1.0 units and I have been increasing based on the numbers and what I am learning here. However, it seems he was doing better (at least had yellow numbers) on the lower doses compared to now at 2.5.

From what I have read about "bouncing" I don't see that happening here. I understand bouncing happens when the levels get very low mid cycle. We are not getting very low mid cycle.

What would you do? Would you decrease back down or keep steady at 2.5 for now?

He is eating 100% low carb varieties of Fancy Feast. He gets 3-4 Temptations treats at testing time. At night, I leave out 0 carb Young Again dry food.

He is eating well, eliminating well, and I believe gaining some weight. He is consuming less water than before. His mood is sour, but that is not unusual for Marvin. He is more reclusive, but that is also not unusual...he goes through cycles.

Thank you for any input! Thank you for this forum...it has been a tremendous help!

2. FurBabiesMama

FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

Hi. I am not sure if you realize it, but Temptations treats are very high in carbs. Some people use them to steer glucose levels up when a cat is going too low. So, it would help if you could find a lower-carb treat to use for testing. A lot of us use PureBites freeze dried treats.

Would it be possible for you to grab some nighttime mid-cycle tests? Some cats go lower at night. So, having some nighttime info helps ensure that it is not bouncing that you are seeing.