Might have accidentally given insulin into the muscle?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Mommy2cats, Nov 11, 2018.

1. Mommy2cats

Mommy2cats New Member

Hi,

I am new to feline diabetes (my sweet Muffin was diagnosed about 3 weeks ago) and giving the injections. I know to give them under the skin but not into the muscle, but I may have accidentally given her last insulin injection into her muscle (on her upper back). I am not 100% sure, but if it did go into her muscle, will she be okay? I'm in worried cat mom mode with her new diagnosis so that's why I ask. Thank you so much.

2. FurBabiesMama

FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

The insulin can be absorbed more quickly when shot into the muscle, increasing the chance of hypoglycemia. (It also hurts.) You do not have a spreadsheet, so I do not know how her numbers have been running, but if she has been running fairly high, it probably would not have caused that. How is she this morning?

Djamila likes this.
  3. Rachel

Rachel Well-Known Member

Sorry we were all probably in bed when you posted! We did have a member once upon a time who gave all his shots IM (per direction from his vet...not something I would recommend offhand). His cat lived a good, long life and even went into remission for awhile. So the good news is, it's happened before and the cat was perfectly fine. As FBM said above, it can absorb more quickly, so if it happens again, you'd want to be more vigilant and monitor BG to be sure she didn't drop too much.

What made you think you gave it in the muscle? How is she today?

Ana & Frosty (GA) likes this.
  4. Mommy2cats

Mommy2cats New Member

Hey!!