I know right!!!Mimi is looking good in those blues! How about trying on some greens again!
Does anyone think her nadir became too low so she’s jumping AMPS?

My first question is why did you do all those retests? (BTW, the SS says 70 and you said 76. Could you please be sure they agree?)+10 76, 62, 78... go with an average of 70? See when the numbers are below 100 I get nervous with the margin of error and possibly taking a “failed reduction”
What about if I got a reading that was 47, but then subsequent to that 54 and then maybe a 49- do I go ahead with a reduce when that kind of thing can happen because of the nature of the meter?
(Would like to be prepared if that did happen)
@Marje and Gracie
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Gill & George
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Can anyone weigh in? thanks!
Oh!! Also she last ate at +8 and now her +10 is low(ish) should I give her something now or wait until her meal time which is in an hour and a half
Ok thank you..My first question is why did you do all those retests? (BTW, the SS says 70 and you said 76. Could you please be sure they agree?)
I suggested before that you don’t get wrapped around “margin of error”. The 70 or 76...whichever the first test was, was a reasonable number in consideration of her other numbers today and did not need to be retested.
Insofar as your question, if you didn’t do all that retesting, what would you say the answer would be? There’s no reason to worry about failed reductions. If they fail, they do. Then you just go back up.
I mean this sincerely and not in a critical way at all but you are making this harder than it needs to be with the retesting. It would be reasonable to have retested immediately if she’d gone from 300 to 70 in an hour. One of those numbers would be off. But she didn’t.
If you had gotten a 47 at +10, you would have retested in 20 mins to see if she was coming up, and if not, fed a small LC snack and retested in 30 minutes after eating.
I wouldn’t feed at +10 when she’s in the 70s and has been fairly flat the last half of the cycle.
an event that 'just happens one day'-
... dang everything NOW is moving SO fast...


I just retested out of curiosity. I don’t know why it was just a feelingMy first question is why did you do all those retests? (BTW, the SS says 70 and you said 76. Could you please be sure they agree?)
I suggested before that you don’t get wrapped around “margin of error”. The 70 or 76...whichever the first test was, was a reasonable number in consideration of her other numbers today and did not need to be retested.
Insofar as your question, if you didn’t do all that retesting, what would you say the answer would be? There’s no reason to worry about failed reductions. If they fail, they do. Then you just go back up.
I mean this sincerely and not in a critical way at all but you are making this harder than it needs to be with the retesting. It would be reasonable to have retested immediately if she’d gone from 300 to 70 in an hour. One of those numbers would be off. But she didn’t.
If you had gotten a 47 at +10, you would have retested in 20 mins to see if she was coming up, and if not, fed a small LC snack and retested in 30 minutes after eating.
I wouldn’t feed at +10 when she’s in the 70s and has been fairly flat the last half of the cycle.
I’m testing to learn more than anything. Now her number is 55..I just retested out of curiosity. I don’t know why it was just a feeling

Yes I do.Rosa, sorry I don’t have the mental capacity to answer your questions above right now (tired and overworked) but when was the 55? Can you stall for 20 mins and see where Mimi is?
And do you have plenty of strips, HC and time to test tonight?
Also, still no shot... times a tickin.. do I shoot? I just tested and she got 67... but what if I tested again and she got say “59” is she going down or was the 67 just a round about number. How quickly do they actually increase when it’s supposed to matter? (Well not “quickly” per say- more like what kind of increase is a notable one) What kind of increase increments should I see and can say “ok she’s going up- it’s not just - that number would have come up if it was subsequent to the lower scarier PMPS number”
Does this make sense?
I see people continuing to dose even when they’ve showed green for days and days.
My fear without shooting is risking her being exposed to ketones because she was DKA before and almost diedI was in the same crisis this very morning. I shot 1/2 dose to play it safe but could have shot the full dose. He is bouncing to the sky tonight. I don’t know if you should shoot or not because Mimi is even lower though, but I feel you.
My fear without shooting is risking her being exposed to ketones because she was DKA before and almost died
I understand, same situation with Mačka, which is why I did not skip the shot.My fear without shooting is risking her being exposed to ketones because she was DKA before and almost died
Dannnnnggggit. I shot her usual dose. Shttttt... did I mess her up?I think Chris suggested you shoot a reduced dose- closer to one you have given before -so you have more of an idea of what to expect....
How does that sound? If you are shooting late , doing that can sometimes count as a reduction also so
Dannnnnggggit. I shot her usual dose. Shttttt... did I mess her up?
As I was told this morning, the shot with influence the later part of the cycle, which is when they go up, and she might also bounce.Dannnnnggggit. I shot her usual dose. Shttttt... did I mess her up?
I’m not really worked up-The people you see doing that have lots of experience and data on their cats and understand how Lantus works.
If you're this worked up over it, I'd suggest giving a reduced dose to see what happens. Get a +1 and +2 in tonight …..it's all good data for the "next time" she gives you a green pre-shot.
It's best not to skip with a recent DKA in the picture....How do you feel about giving 1U? Do you have plenty of HC food if you need it? Plenty of test strips and the ability to test as long as necessary tonight?
She’s been dosed. 10 pm- 30 minutes past usual time. bought to get ready to stay awake!
She always has such a good appetite (a little too good at times which is why I think she was a little chubster for some years. (I also wasn’t aware that my seemingly good food which was no byproduct and “grain free”, came up with 30% carbs on Dr Lisa’s chart!!!! It was drenched in broth. Soulistic was the nameDid you feed her meanwhile?![]()
Oh yes!!!! I did!! Lets get her little pancreas learning again!As someone else posted...you can grab a +1 and +2 so you can see the trend and anticipate any action you might need to take.
Congrats on shooting low to stay low !!!
I also wasn’t aware that my seemingly good food which was no byproduct and “grain free”, came up with 30% carbs on Dr Lisa’s chart!!!! It was drenched in broth. Soulistic was the name
No, you didn’t. I would have shot the full dose. Shooting a reduced dose is for you, not her. Just be sure you get a +1 and +2.Dannnnnggggit. I shot her usual dose. Shttttt... did I mess her up?
It was some chicken one. I haven’t fed them that in years. At least 5. I did see some weren’t super high but at the time I only knew “byproducts bad. Grain free good”. Which is still true but not the whole picture. I always thought her weight gain was just her breed because I didn’t feed them garbage. Now they’re on raw and their coats are beautiful- their teeth look great and their poop is consistently the same- It doesn’t smell and it looks almost like a peanut (the shell)haha"Grain Free" doesn't mean "low carb"....the manufacturers just took out the grains and added potato, sweet potato, peas and chickpeas.
Soulistic has quite a few canned foods that are low carb. There are a couple that are 20-24% but there are lots of choices that are fine for diabetics. Where are you seeing 30%?
Thanks!!!No, you didn’t. I would have shot the full dose. Shooting a reduced dose is for you, not her. Just be sure you get a +1 and +2.
Now they’re on raw and their coats are beautiful- their teeth look great and their poop is consistently the same- It doesn’t smell and it looks almost like a peanut (the shell)haha
I first tried them on it when they were 3 and 2 years old (Mimi is 10, Batman 9) after staying up half the night reading catinfo.org. So I’ve known about Dr Pierson for years!! Then when we lived in NYC it was too difficult to keep the raw cold with train rides, etc. so I switched to their canned... (oh it was natures variety)Isn't it amazing?? I didn't used to believe all the claims I heard from people who fed raw until I tried it myself!!