Mimi 3/11 AMPS 126 PMPS 150 question about increasing

She didn’t see a nadir under 100 but she did see a AMPS of 92 less than 10 cycles ago, so does that count?
 
Last edited:
I'm not sure I understand your comment above.

The TR Protocol states:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
You've been at the 1.5u dose since the PM cycle of 2/23. The vast majority of your nadirs have been in the blues and greens.You should have increased the dose after 6 cycles. It's been 35 cycles.

So, by all means, increase the dose.
 
I'm not sure I understand your comment above.

The TR Protocol states:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
You've been at the 1.5u dose since the PM cycle of 2/23. The vast majority of your nadirs have been in the blues and greens.You should have increased the dose after 6 cycles. It's been 35 cycles.

So, by all means, increase the dose.

Right but every time I would approach a 6thcycle it would go down to dark greens, so I held the dose, and then waited and just when I was about to increase she went down into greens again (speaking throughout the 35 cycles)

Her last number at 92 was a pre shot on 3/7 and my question was- that number would keep her in the dose for another 10 cycles, right? Even though it didn’t happen at the nadir?
 
Let me just see if I understand - every time they hit a number below 100 it’s automatically held for 10 cycles, correct? So say they are approaching the 10th cycle and just when I’m about to increase she hits a number below 100, doesnt that restart the counting?
 
No, you're not interpreting the protocol correctly. Once a cat is beginning to see consistent numbers/nadirs in normal range, you hold the dose for 10 cycles. It's not a matter of one nadir below 100. That could be somewhat random. The protocol refers to nadirs (plural) not a nadir. The way you're interpreting TR, if a cat's nadirs were consistently in the 90s, you'd never increase the dose.
 
Might explain why she’s not seeing them more often, thanks Sienne!

Every time I would think she’d be looking at an increase she would hit a low. Her fructosamine showed she’s fairly regulated (somehow got talked into getting one). The vet suggested she might be needing more insulin more often based on that. (It was 442, and anything over 450 is considered poorly regulated)
I have to take a good 20 minutes and input the data into her SS, I haven’t done that yet.
 
Back
Top