Mishu's 1st hometest plus dosing sugg

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Amanda Weaver, Aug 15, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Amanda Weaver

Amanda Weaver New Member

So Mishu is 14yr old tabby diagnosed last Wednesday. I am new to all of this. Her bg was 443 at the vet. We home tested for the first time tonight and it went well! Her pmps was 120 and I still gave her prozinc dose of 1u but now things I'm reading say people typically skip early on when the Bg is under 200. Should I have skipped that? Taking her +3 reading in ab 20-30 min. We are using a relion meter. Any suggestions and tips are greatly appreciated.

2. Tanya and Ducia

Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

Hi Amanda,

you may need to test Mishu a little longer this cycle to make sure he stays within that nice Green 74 number you just get a +3.

Do you have enough testing strips?
    Do you have Midium Carbs or High Carbs wet food?

If you can edit your post's title to something like "8/15 Mishu PMPS 120, +3 74 1st Low Pre-shot Please help" people who a re knowledgeable in Prozinc will stop by and advise. I am Lantus user.

In a meantime I think it would be good to offer Mishu a little extra Low Carbs wet food, if that's what he eats. Giving about 2 teaspoons now will help him to stay afloat within that mid 70s range. And would take another test 30 min after he is done eating that snack.

3. Amanda Weaver

Amanda Weaver New Member

She's got low carb wet food out now but not hungry enough to go eat it. I gave her some treats and she took those. We have higher carb wet food in case of lows. I've been blind shooting for a week so I have no idea if this is normal range for her or not. We have a ton of tester strips and other supplies because I went overboard ordering and everything came in today. I'll check her again in 20-30 min.

4. Tanya and Ducia