Morris3

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Pati, Jan 18, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Sort of looks like the old bottle was losing its punch - lower dose this AM brought BG down lower than the higher dose from the old bottle.
     
  3. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Yes. Glad I gave less.
    Thanks.
     
  4. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    PMPS 368 Dose?
     
  5. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Certainly no more than 3 u for now. Maybe 2.8 u in case he goes lower overnight? The new insulin seems to be a bit more potent. You can always go up tomorrow if he's higher than you want.
     
  6. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Gave 3u
    Will set alarm and feed if necessary.
    Thank you
     
  7. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    +5 352 I haven't done enough night checking but every time I have he is high at +5-6. It does seem backward to me as he doesn't have the extra food that he gets in the day time. I can understand why they might be lower in the night. Strange?
    AMPS 361 gave 3u again because I want to see what happens.
    I need to have a weekend plan in place by tomorrow am.
     
  8. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Some cats do run higher at night. Not sure why, but there could be many different reasons.

    Are you going out of town for the weekend? Sorry if I missed this...
     
  9. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    So far it seems that 3 u is a safe dose. Data from today should verify that.
     
    Pati likes this.
  10. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Agree. Today should give you good info. Maybe you'll need to up the dose a little.
     
    Pati likes this.
  11. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    +5 256
     
  12. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    PMPS 398 gave 3.4u
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  13. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    AMPS 293 gave 3.4u again
     
  14. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Looking good. Have you decided on a dose for the days you're away? Will he be tested then? Sorry if you gave this info elsewhere.
     
  15. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    I can check at +6 today.
    Haven't decided :(
    >300 3.4u (was 3.6)
    >250-299 3.4u or 3.2u? (Was 3.4u)
    >200-249 3u (was 3.2u)
    <200 text me :) Probably no shot but the next time I get that myself I want to try like 1u or something rather than no shot
    +6 if <125 feed 1 spoon
    He will be tested at AMPS, +6, and PMPS for sure. Only more if something is going on.
    I am sent his numbers each time.
    Thank you Kris.
     
    Sue and Oliver (GA) likes this.
  16. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Looks like you have a plan. Probably safer to go with no shot if BG is <200 until you're there yourself to try something different. How many days are you away?
     
  17. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    +5.5. 169
    So maybe for the weekend plan:
    >300 3.4u
    250-299 3.2u
    200-249 3u
    <200 no shot

    I hate losing momentum. Too conservative? A lot of times his best numbers are when I'm gone. Hmmm. :)
    Until Monday this time.
    And a really cool thing, he is starting to purr when I put him in my lap and rub his ears and face.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  18. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I know what you mean about not wanting to lose momentum but you also don't want things to get too exciting for Morris's sitter. o_O:)
     
    Pati likes this.
  19. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    PMPS 341 3.4u
    AMPS 378 3.4u
    +6 186
    If PMPS is >300 told to change to 3.6u
    Last time I got new insulin he went down for a day so it seemed like the old had lost potency. Same this bottle. I think he just wants to make me feel good after having spent $$. :)
     
    Rachel and Kris & Teasel like this.
  20. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    PMPS 340 3.6u
    AMPS 355 3.6u
    +6 211
    Nudge him tonight if still >300? I'm home. Fat 3.6u?
     
  21. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    If you can monitor, I'd be inclined to do that. See if you can't get that nadir a little bit lower....
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  22. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Thanks Rachel!
     
  23. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    PMPS 330 gave 3.7u
    +5 307 !
    AMPS 285 gave 3.7u
    A mystery why he doesn't drop +5 at night like he does in the day. His food is stable. He does get a tiny piece of Glycoflex when the dogs get eggs at PM +2 to appease him. We'll give him a piece of beef heart instead and rule the Glycoflex in or out. Next step would be to test at different times than PM +5 to see if he just stays pretty much flat all night.
    AM decided to keep the nudge on and see what happens.
     
    Kris & Teasel and Rachel like this.
  24. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    What's Glycoflex, Pati? Is it a glucosamine type joint supplement?
     
  25. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Yes
    Active Ingredients Per Tablet:
    Glucosamine HCl (Shrimp and Crab) 750 mg
    Perna Canaliculus (GlycOmegaâ„¢ brand
    Green-Lipped Mussel) 600 mg
    Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM) 500 mg
    N,N-Dimethylglycine HCl (DMG) 100 mg
    Manganese (Mn Amino Acid Chelate) 10 mg
    Inactive Ingredients: brewers yeast, natural imitation chicken flavor, silicon
    dioxide, stearic acid, water.
    Morris gets 1/8-1/4 of a tablet. It's candy to him.
     
  26. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    None of these things are obviously carb related but it's worth trying an experiment by withholding it for a while.
     
  27. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Yes. Interesting puzzle about his night cycles.

    +4 196
     
  28. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Nice blue at +6. :)
     
    Pati likes this.
  29. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    +6 108
    +8 162 fed usual +8
     
  30. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    :)
     
  31. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    PMPS 362 3.7u
    @+5.75 259
    AMPS 366 3.7u
     
    Rachel likes this.
  32. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I think you mean 3.7 u for today's AM dose, correct? You accidentally entered 2.7 u on your SS, Pati. Looking good.
     
  33. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Yes typo. Thanks Kris.
     
  34. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    AMPS 366 3.7u
    +4.45 296
    Ate at +7 today instead of +8
    PMPS 244 3.4u
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2017
    Rachel and Kris & Teasel like this.
  35. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    +4 287
    AMPS 363 3.7u
    Thinking should have stuck with 3.7u yesterday's PM?
     
  36. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Hmmm...possibly. But it's all data gathering. I probably would have done the same as you did. And now you know for the next time!
     
    Kris & Teasel and Pati like this.
  37. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I agree - all data is good data even if the numbers aren't pretty. :)
     
    Pati likes this.
  38. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    PMPS 331 3.7u
    +5 348! Would suggest a fur shot but I'm pretty sure not plus a pattern of this is developing.
    AMPS 336 3.8u
     
  39. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    He's really sitting in the same preshot range Pati. I think your slow increases are good. Keep going til you break through.
     
  40. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Thanks Rachel.
    Strange that it is only at night cycle.
     
  41. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I guess Morris has a strange quirk of night time physiology. It'll be interesting to see how this is affected once he's into blue PSs. Cats are very strange creatures ...
     
  42. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    :)
    +5 139
    I think next I want to see something like +7 or +8 (PM) cycle. Uggg.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  43. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    PMPS 316 3.8u
    +8 293
    AMPS 232 3.8u
    Could be an exciting day! He hasn't been in greens in a long time. Maybe I can get there today by keeping the dose. I 'm thinking I need to see where the dose takes him.
    I'll check early and do food at +3 if I need to slow it down.
    I think I need to keep checking the night cycle maybe a full curve. Double ugg.
     
  44. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Ouch to a full curve at night! Numbers are looking good, Pati. :)
     
  45. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Thanks Kris.
    Yea maybe maybe not. :) Just curious why he doesn't drop at night like the day. Day he has food at +8 so it seems backwards. He should technically drop lower at night. A mystery.
     
  46. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    ECID ... o_O;)
     
  47. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Some cats have that pattern - can be more food/less food/more activity/less activity. Possible that he drops and bounces. Or that he is inactive and just higher and flatter. And yes, ugh, but one night with a few numbers around nadir should give you some insights.
     
    Pati likes this.
  48. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    +4.75 296
    Wasn't expecting that. Maybe a boring day after all.
     
  49. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    +6.25 237
    Maybe more of a nudge?
     
  50. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Looks like it...
     
    Pati likes this.
  51. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Thanks Rachel.
    PMPS 338 4u
    +2 295
     
  52. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    +4 215
    +5 Morris steered himself with food from the bakery :(
    AMPS 399 4u
     
  53. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Bad Morris! ;) You'll get him back. Even though you're dealing with the ups and downs (!) of FD, Pati, I bet you're glad you adopted the boy. :)
     
  54. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Yep, love him. This is Jet. He will be 15 soon. He ignores Morris and minds his own business. For some reason Morris doesn't like that and will go out of his way to go after Jet. I think I'm making progress. :)
    IMG_1781.JPG
     
  55. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Haha I understand that! My Elektra will go out of her way to follow Oreo around the house...even when he bites her and swats at her! She loves him and he can barely tolerate her.
     
    Kris & Teasel and Pati like this.
  56. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    So sweet! :)
     
  57. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    I take back the above. I've been bit, swatted, and scratched today!
    I hope today's #'s are a reflection of his midnight pastry indulgence.
    +5 234 fed usual +8 at +5
    +7 205
    PMPS 508 FS strip 448 AT strip gave 4u
    Tomorrow is another day.
     
  58. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    He read what you wrote...didn't want to be seen as sweet :joyful:

    You're so right! Tomorrow is another day....once cycle does not a cat make.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page