My Wellington has just been diagnosed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by lechatblanc, Jun 22, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lechatblanc

lechatblanc New Member

Hi there. I am a retired journalist and I live in France with 9 cats, a dog, 3 ponies and a goat. Wellington. at 11 years old, is the third oldest furry member of the family. He has had a hard life - he was dumped on my doorstep at 3 months old, in a very bad state, and has been asthmatic his whole life. He also is FHV and has constant eye problems. But this morning I was very sorry to learn he now also has diabetes, and will be on medication as of tomorrow. He is such a special boy - a gentle giant at 8.7 kg, pure white and with a laid back temperament that means he will allow almost any liberty without complaining. I know very little about diabetes - I have two older cats with renal problems and one who has had urinary surgery, so my researches have been more in that direction. I know I will have many questions, and I am already doubtful of some of the things my vet told me this morning. But we will take it slowly and I look forward to exchanging views and experiences and getting some good advice from those with much more to offer than me.

I attach a pic of Wellington with his adopted sister Persil garden june 2016 183.JPG

2. scoobydoox

scoobydoox Member

3. lechatblanc

lechatblanc New Member

Thanks. So far I have the blood results - 350 for glucose, 250 for fructose. She is ordering insulin for me to pick up tomorrow - I only just learned there are different sorts so I will have to trust her on that to start with. She wants me to put him on RC diabetic kibble, and all I read so far says a wet diet is best. But he already eats grain free wrt food and a little urinary quality dry as snacks, so I am not sure what to change to.

4. scoobydoox

scoobydoox Member