? Need advice on whether I need to increase dose

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
Previously

Over the past few days Jerry's BG has been very unstable. Today for the first time in a long time I'm getting almost all yellows across the board so far (which makes Momma happy.)

I know the protocol for SLGS is if the nadir is higher than 150 mg then I should increase the dose by 0.25 units. My question is should I do this increase at the PM shot or wait to see if he stays in the yellow zone for another few cycles?

Deirdre
 
I know this probably isn't the answer you want but I'd like to see where Jerry's numbers are closer to shot time. Would you be able to get a +11? My reasoning is that it looks like Jerry's bounce is breaking. I'd prefer to not blindly tell you to increase the dose if numbers continue to drop.
 
Oh I understand, whole reason I put this question out there in the first place. I really don't want to break the charm of the 200 zone after the numbers I've been seeing lately. I will most certainly get a +11 and post it here. Appreciate your input. Thanks,
 
Sienne, his +11 is 274. I'm so happy to still be in the 200's What do you think, should I just keep him on the 1.75 IU until the AM or increase his dose this PM?
 
Is there a particular reason you're doing SLGS?? You test MORE than enough to be on Tight Regulation and that would allow you to increase the dose more often if it's not getting the results you want.

I think you could go ahead and increase to 2U tonight especially with as much as you test, but just be aware of this....sometimes those flat yellow cycles precede a very active cycle so tonight may be a long one.
 
Thank you Chris. Sorry for the delay in response but we had an unexpected visitor. I started with SLGs on the vets advice and as I'm such a nervous ninny and Jerry's numbers tend to jump all over the place I've been testing a lot more than I did originally. I'll read up on the TR method, if you think it is a way to go, and see if its something that would fit for us. His BG at PMPS was 344 so I increased his dose to 2IU. We have had this dose before so I'll be curious what this will do for him. It was a relief to see him in the yellow number today. I'll continue to test him at +2 etc. to see where he is at. Appreciate your advice as always.
Deirdre.
 
I'll read up on the TR method, if you think it is a way to go, and see if its something that would fit for us

Yes I do....the TR protocol would allow you to increase the dose every 3 days instead of waiting a whole week. When cats stay in higher numbers for longer periods of time, glucose toxicity can set in and then you end up having to shoot higher and higher doses just to break through that

By increasing more often, you lesson the chances of glucose toxicity setting in and can concentrate on getting the numbers down sooner.....which gives the best chance at remission.
 
I agree that you test more than enough for TR. If you're nervous about a more aggressive approach, here's what I'd suggest. Stick with SLGS to the letter. It looks like you were at the 1.75u dose for 10 days. With SLGS, you would have increased at a week. See how that method works for you.

Personally, I only used TR. There was a much stronger emphasis on TR when Gabby was diagnosed. I'm also a testaholic so the testing fit with my wanting to have data. At least for me, I felt like I could better manage Gabby's FD with more testing and with the very clear guidelines that TR offered. Not everyone feels comfortable with TR, though. You can always switch between the two methods.
 
Back
Top