911 need to respond to vet today!! diagnosed yesterday

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Minnig, Nov 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Minnig

Minnig New Member

Hi to all,

I am a newbie and I am sure I am doing this wrong, but I didn't have a chance to thoroughly read your FAQ''s and process it well. My husband took our 7 yr male cat to vet yesterday. He is skin and bones - I thought it was hyperthyroidism but vet (young - newly out of vet school - if that makes a difference regarding experience or should he be better and more up to date on issues??) said hypoglycemic. Hubby was stressed out and didn't retain much info re: Huey's weight or glycemic level. He thinks vet said in the 500's. Vet said diet change was not important and your site says ABSOLUTELY IS!!

He is calling later today to set up hospitalization for about 3 days to moniter his glucose levels and the cost to us will be about $600-700. We just spent over $500 yesterday for the diagnosis. Can't afford this unless it means life or death for Huey. What do I need to ask him to get what we need to get Huey started on "home care". Can we you tube how to give him the shots? Do we get the insulin from the vet? I tried to get to the page "what to ask your vet" but my computer couldn't get to that link.

Sorry to ask for info that I know is plentiful here, I just don't have the time before he calls. Huey thanks all who help his dummy mommy!!

Deborah

2. billysmom (GA)

billysmom (GA) Member

Hello Deborah, I can't answer all your questions but I can tell you that diet is very important. My cat's glucose dropped 200 points after taking him off of DM dry food. Others here have also reported significant drops when switching to a low carb, high protein wet diet.

Squalliesmom likes this.
  3. Bobbie And Bubba

Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member