Matthijs
Member Since 2019
Yesterday, I switched Cedric's diet over from high carb dry food, to low carb wet food (Granatapet).
To be safe, I did not administer any insuline. I was happy to see that during the day his BG decreased from 10.5 mmol/l to 8.7 mmol/l. I hoped this trend continued and Cedric's BG could be controlled with diet alone.
I was a bit ahead of things. This morning the preshot was 9.5 mmol/l (very positive!), so I thought no insuline would be required.
But the +2 test was increased to 13.2 mmol/l! So I panicked and decided to give 0,5 U insuline together with a bit more food.
With the dry food, Cedric got 1,5 U insuline every 12 hours.
How do I determine which dosage to give now that Cedric is on a low carb diet?
And more important, would a fixed dosage be the best way to get him in remission? Or should I look into Tight Regulation?
@MrWorfMen's Mom can you assist me with this?
To be safe, I did not administer any insuline. I was happy to see that during the day his BG decreased from 10.5 mmol/l to 8.7 mmol/l. I hoped this trend continued and Cedric's BG could be controlled with diet alone.
I was a bit ahead of things. This morning the preshot was 9.5 mmol/l (very positive!), so I thought no insuline would be required.
But the +2 test was increased to 13.2 mmol/l! So I panicked and decided to give 0,5 U insuline together with a bit more food.
With the dry food, Cedric got 1,5 U insuline every 12 hours.
How do I determine which dosage to give now that Cedric is on a low carb diet?
And more important, would a fixed dosage be the best way to get him in remission? Or should I look into Tight Regulation?
@MrWorfMen's Mom can you assist me with this?