? New and cat mom frustration

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by AlphaCat, May 12, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlphaCat

AlphaCat Member

Hi,
    So I'm new to diabetes as of this week. Right now, my confidence level in my vet is faltering.

I'm not sure if I want reassurance that this is the normal process, or advice on how to handle it... so, I'll take it all lol.
    Monday we had blood work drawn. She was at 450 and the vet wanted her back Tuesday evening to keep her and get her glucose stabilized. They expected a 3 day stay. Monday's visit alone cost $350.00 without any treatment - just for testing and visit.
    The vet hasn't called me once to offer any updates.
    I called on Thursday just before lunch. They said she tested at 350 that morning and was given 1 unit of insulin and they would be testing throughout the day to monitor her.
    Today I called just before lunch again for an update. They said she was in the 100's last night so they did not give her a second dose, but this morning she was at 480. So she's received another 1 unit of insulin this morning and they are monitoring to try and figure out the dosage to do a 2x a day insulin dose. She said plan to pick up Fabby today because I can give her insulin over the weekend just as good as they can, but they would like to see her again on Monday.

I am screaming inside my head! What am I paying them for??? Why did I have to leave my cat with them if they haven't got it figured out yet, but I can do it just as well at home??? And why on earth would I bring her back on Monday if it's just as good at home???