New at this and feeling defeated

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by jsanderson0508, Oct 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jsanderson0508

jsanderson0508 New Member

My cat Kayla was diagnosed with diabetes earlier this summer. Being that I'm a lab tech and understand diabetes and the treatment extremely well, I wasn't too worried about the treatment. I knew I would do what needed to be done so she could get back to her old self again. First, we tried a diet change, which was helping. However, in August, she stopped eating and by the time we were able to get her to the vet, she was in full blown DKA and had to be hospitalized for a couple of days, and of course started on insulin. Learning to give the insulin shots honestly hasn't been too bad. But what I wasn't prepared for was the sticker shock, the strict schedule and trying to get her regulated. After started her on 1 unit per 12 hours, we took her back to the vet for her glucose curve, and I wasn't prepared for the $80 cost- as well as being told that once she has been on the new dose of 2 units per 12 hours, we should bring her back again for another glucose curve....and another $80. Needless to say, this has prompted me to want to do home testing, and I've even bought the supplies and read up on it. But if it were only that easy.....