new here with newly diagnosed diabetic furbaby...

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Neeka, Nov 7, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Neeka

Neeka Member

Hi everyone, as I mentioned above, I am new to this page & forum & need some guidance primarily with food change. I have a multi-cat household (4) & Bailei, my oldest at 7 1/2 yoa was just diagnosed as diabetic. I am a previous vet tech so I have quiet a bit of medical background, but having a diabetic in the house is a new ballgame for me. He is currently on insulin (ProZinc) with a sliding dose based on BG. I test him every 12 hours & feed/dose accordingly. For example, last night he was 364, I fed him (canned food (9lives tuna/egg) & fresh boiled chicken breast) & gave him 2 units. This morning, he was 97, so I fed him (same thing) & did not give any insulin. We're doing his curve this weekend to try pin down his nadir, but in the meantime, I am testing every 12hours. My main question is diet, considering I have 3 other adults cats living in a communal home. Bailei will continue to be on a predominantly wet diet (canned food morning & night) but I need a suitable dry to leave out for everyone else that will not sabotage his numbers. The others also get canned food at night, but they are all used to eating dry food. I have done a lot of research, I DO NOT want to use the DM or WD RX diets the vet has recommended, but have narrowed it down to these 2 food brands: Wysong Epigen 90 (guaranteed analysis 63p-16f-3fi-10m) & Orijen Cat & Kitten (40p-20f-3fi-10m). They are similar in price & both are very low carb diets. To me, the Orijen appears to have better main ingredients (more meat sources), but I wanted to get opinions from the board as to which would be "better" considering my household. Thank you in advance!! :) Epigen90.jpg Orijen1.jpg Orijen.jpg

2. majandra

majandra Well-Known Member

Welcome!