New to diabetes- first week of testing question

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by CassWTribby, Feb 8, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CassWTribby

CassWTribby Member

hi there,

I am very new to this! I was able to get BGT last night it was 14.1 and
    I gave 1 u of caninsulin. This morning - 12 hours later- her BGT showed 16, I gave the 1 u of caninsulin. She is also on medication for the diarrhea she has had for several weeks. An antibiotic and a dewormer, both liquid, both once a day. She has 2 days left. She is on WD canned 2 x a day and ID pellets free fed. She has lost some weight so my vet recommended she eat whenever she wanted of the pellet.
    I am hoping to test tonight before bed to get a 3 Rd result and one closer to her injection.

My question is:
    How long before her glucose level will come down and hopefully stay down?
    Should I increase the caninsulin based on her glucose level now or wait a week or so?
    Will the diarrhea be relieved when her blood sugar goes down or does her diarrhea need to be gone in order for her blood sugar to go down?

My vet wasn't sure but wants me to finish the oral meds.

Her blood glucose tests are MUCH easier now with all your great tips. Thanks again everyone!

Cass and Tribby

2. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

That's called regulation and it can happen quickly for some cats but takes longer in most others. The important thing for now is to follow a good testing routine and log the data. Would you be willing to set up the spreadsheet we use here? After there's a lot of data on it, more experienced people can look at it to see what's going on and offer advice.
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/