New to Dx - first BG spike

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kelsey R, Nov 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kelsey R

Kelsey R Member

Hello all,

I'm new to the feline diabetes diagnosis (it's been just shy of week). I apologize for not having a spreadsheet yet, still trying to come up with a rhythm here.

So...
    11/8: Loki's BG at the vet was 380. She put him on 1 unit of ProZinc twice a day.
    11/11: pm BG was 290, vet told me to up the dosage. So I started giving him 1.5 units twice a day.
    11/12: pm BG was 260.
    11/13: I couldn't get his blood . Poor boy has 100 sticks in his ear, I just couldn't get a good reading. Same thing for this morning. My husband and I were finally able to hold him down and get a stick tonight.
    11/14 his pm BG was 432. I gave him 2 units.

This is a BIG jump. I'm nervous! He was trending down and I was hoping he was going to be able to fight this. Now, I'm worried.

Has this jump happened to anyone? Could a jump that high be caused from the stress of me poke him (literally) dozens of time within the last 24 hours? Help!

2. Kelsey R

Kelsey R Member

Also, just found out that my husband gave him 4 oz, or so, of the D/M dry food when he got home. That was 3 hours ago, but not sure if that could contribute to his glucose spike.

3. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

Could be. Dm dry is like 16% carb (too high) and dry takes longer to metabolism.

The dose increase is being based on random readings? We're the readings at naidar? (Lowest point) have you done any curves?

4. Kelsey R

Kelsey R Member