new to the site

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Grace+Deacon, Sep 3, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Grace+Deacon

Grace+Deacon New Member

Hello, I have zero experience with message boards so hopefully I'm posting this in the right place.

My name is Grace and I have a 13 year old neutered male indoor (perfect recipe for diabetes) cat named Deacon. Quick history on Deacon: I've had Deacon since he was about 7 months old and fed him cheap dry food for most of his life because I had no idea that it was so bad. He is the only cat I've ever had and I've learned a lot from him. About 5 years ago he went to the vet for three days due to urinary blockage. They recommended the dry prescription royal canin UT food so that's what I fed him for the next few years.

Three years later I noticed he was drinking and peeing a LOT and was having more and more trouble with his back legs. He also trembles a lot and has for years (sometimes I call him my little bobblehead due to the head trembling). I took him into the vet, a newer much better vet, and he was diagnosed as diabetic with blood sugar numbers upwards of 500-700. We started him on Purina DM wet food and insulin (Prozinc) twice a day. This worked well to control his blood sugar and after about a year his insulin production kicked back in and we took him off the insulin and kept him on the DM. His legs/gait didn't improve much, his trembling got better but never went away (I suspect there may be other factors contributing to these two issues).