newbie here -- 330 BG-- amount insulin to give?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sashi's Mama, Dec 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sashi's Mama

Sashi's Mama Member

Hi, I posted this in the welcome thread before reading the stickie that said to post health questions here (duh, sorry). So this is my question copied over here:

My 17-year-old cat, Sashet (or Sashi) was diagnosed yesterday. The BG taken at the vet's then was 400-something, and vet prescribed 2 units of Vetsulin 2x/day. But the bottle he gave me says it's Novolin NPH? (I didn't look at it till I was home.) I also just finally successfully home-tested Sashi right now and got a reading of 330 (using Bayer Contour). Is 2 units twice a day still a good idea? Should I adjust down to start, now that I'm doing my own readings?

Also, he's on 1 ml of Amoxicillin 2x/day because he has a broken front tooth, poor baby. We're not doing the surgery till his BGs are more stable, which the vet wants to recheck in two weeks. Should I worry about readings being off due to the amoxicillin at all, or is that not an issue?

If anyone has advice/suggestions, I'm all ears! Thank you so much from both me & Sashi.

2. jayla-n-Drevon

jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome!
    I am not sure those insulins are the same-I am going to tag @Bobbie And Bubba

3. jayla-n-Drevon

jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

by the way AWESOME that you are already home testing!!:cat:

4. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

Novolin and Vetsulin are both intermediate acting insulins....the problem with both of them is that they tend to be harsh and cause the glucose to drop sharply and then poop out before it's time for the next shot.....they're both better for dogs than cats

If your vet said Vetsulin and gave you Novolin, I might call and ask and make sure they gave you the correct one though because there are some differences