Newbie here... IBD, steroids, now diabetes. Vet stumped?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Cinderelaw, Aug 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cinderelaw

Cinderelaw New Member

Hello everyone, newbie here. I feel so lucky to have found this wonderful site.  My tony is 10 years old, a big 20 lb. orange bundle of love.  Poor Tony had diarrhea for a year. Vet said he thinks its IBD, or possibly lymphoma. He's been on  prednisolone (1 ml twice a day) about 6 months now and that helped the diarrhea, but he became ravenously hungry and thirsty and was using the litter box @8x/day. Then recently he stopped eating and drinking for 4 days, was throwing up, could barely walk and was stumbling around, seemed disoriented, had glazed look, looked awful, severely dehydrated. As of yesterday Vet says he is diabetic, his # is over 700. 
    After finding this site, i learned that prednisolone can cause diabetes. Wish my vet had warned me. He prescribed lantus, 1 notch on the syringe 2x/day. He did not mention glucose testing at all. He did not (nor has he ever) suggested a particular diet. Right now i put out dry food (purina one "vibrant maturity") and give him the pred in a small amount of canned 9 lives. 
    He said there could be a kidney issue but that we would re-test for that after tony started eating and drinking again.  He also said we had a problem because the pred and insulin dont work well together/ counteract each other, or something like that. He said he would have to ask a colleague for suggestions of how best to deal with that.
    Tony is much better now, i am giving him fluids 1x/day and started lantus yesterday. He is eating and drinking a little and seems almost back to normal.