Newbie here!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by GAWildKat, Jul 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GAWildKat

GAWildKat New Member

I realize there's alot of newbie posts here so I'll try to be concise. My undiagnosed cat Sabrina age 8 is diabetic, I can tell this because of her weight loss (tho currently is holding her weight) and I tested her bg over the weekend (it was 390 1 hr after meal) Took me an extra 30 mins to get her to stop squirming and tossing her head lol. I swapped her to the high protein diet I was feeding my CRF cat before she passed away, in hopes this will bring her bg back down some. I have not taken her to a vet yet, am trying to hold out til the first of the mo, unless anyone has any assistance resources willing to help me. I'm low income and fixed income and my cat is an assistance animal that helps manage my stress levels. I have a monitor but I do need test strips and lancets as it took a few practice runs on me to figure out what to do with it :) For anyone willing to assist me, I live in Central GA (Macon area) I don't even have a regular vet either, my experience with the local vets has been unhelpful. When my CRF cat was diagnosed I had to fight to get the IV fluids and other things prescribed. I never was able to get the aransep or epogen prescribed because they presumed I couldn't afford it. Anyway, enough ranting.....TIA for any assistance anyone may provide.

Regards,
    Tricia

2. Venita

Venita Well-Known Member

The quicker Sabrina gets treatment the less this is likely to cost you in the long run. A cat can get a condition known as diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) if it goes untreated too long. DKA is extremely expensive to treat, and can be fatal.