River Fae
Member Since 2016
My cat, Dorian, was diagnosed a few days ago. To my knowledge, his BG has never been past 459. He is 11. There was no sign of ketones in urine at the point of diagnosis/beginning of treatment. There was an indication of infection, which the vet is initially assuming is UTI. SO, for the 6 days since diagnosis, he's been on antibiotic and also insulin. He started on 3 units of insulin twice a day (he's almost 15 pounds - somewhat fat, but also very large boned and long). The day we did the all day BG testing (for a curve), he was around 40 for an hour. There was no sign of hypo reaction, but it scared me. We reduced at that point to 2 units. The vet thinks he'll end up on 2.5, but for now he's on 2. He did not handle ear pricks as well as cats seem to usually. It was highly stressful for all. He fought and fought every single time.
Since beginning treatments, along with a diet change, he is drinking much less water and is urinating much less. He seems to have more energy. But, he is also periodically hiding under the entertainment center. He will come out if I call him for a while, or pet him for a while, but it scares me that he's doing this when he hasn't done it before. He should be feeling better. Any thoughts?
Thank you so much!
Since beginning treatments, along with a diet change, he is drinking much less water and is urinating much less. He seems to have more energy. But, he is also periodically hiding under the entertainment center. He will come out if I call him for a while, or pet him for a while, but it scares me that he's doing this when he hasn't done it before. He should be feeling better. Any thoughts?
Thank you so much!
