Newbie, Sort of

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by LucyEllenH, Jul 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LucyEllenH

LucyEllenH New Member

Hello everyone. My name is Lucy, and my 12-year-old cat Shadow (new nickname "Sweetums", of course) has just been diagnosed with diabetes. I'm also a blogger, so I wrote all about it here.

I'm not really all that overwhelmed, because I'm an MD and so I have a lot of experience treating diabetes. I had to get taught how to get blood from an ear (piece of cake! too bad I wasted a strip by forgetting to turn on the meter first), and I'm still getting the hang of the insulin shots (stuck myself through the "tent" this morning; wasn't bad, though). I got kind of a kick out of signing Shadow up as a new patient at Costco when I went to get his Lantus last night (no, he doesn't have Medicare Part B or Part D), and I'll be the first to admit how convenient it is to write my own prescriptions (necessary in Pennsylvania).

What I'm mainly wondering about is how much difference there is between people and kitties in terms of treatment. ie, how low do I have to get his sugars to relieve the polys (thirst, hunger, pissing up a storm)? How long will it take for him to feel better, but more specifically, how long will it be until we can tell he's feeling better? He never seemed all that uncomfortable to us. Then again, it turns out that what to us is "lovingly mellow" is actually "lethargic". His purr had been strong the whole time, though. His actual presenting complaint was hind end weakness, ie, not being able to jump.