Newbie starting insulin tomorrow and real nervous

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Gretchen(sugarbaby)&bobbi, Mar 31, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gretchen(sugarbaby)&bobbi

Gretchen(sugarbaby)&bobbi Member

Hi, I just found out this morning I have to start my Gretchen on insulin. I work in the medical field and am nervous about the injection! Silly I know. Mostly worried about the minuscule amount and getting it correct.

I am also curious as to if anyone feeds canned Beyond. I believe it was on here that I read it was good low carb.

I have 2 other kitties and just lost my oldest one a couple weeks ago. I also have 2 dogs and 3 horses and I’m a single busy person...my animals are my family :)

Gretchen is around 13. She was 34 pounds at her top weight and now is a much healthier 10 pounds...but not healthy the way it was lost (diabetes)

Excuse me for being scrambled, I’m tired, but I also have another question...can I use a human glucose monitor or do I need a special pet one???

Thanks to all!

BTW Gretchen is the dilute calico and Nikita, who I just lost is the tortoise shell (in my avator)

And OMGosh another edit...I didn’t see Lucky sleeping in the back there :)

Last edited: Mar 31, 2018
    Reason for edit: Add comment on aviator
  2. Sharon14

Sharon14 Well-Known Member

Welcome! You can use a human meter, in fact most of us do. It will read lower than your vets meter, especially at high numbers, but it will show you trends and if Gretchen’s bg is high enough to give the shot. HERES our food chart. Look up the flavor Beyond you use to see if it’s below 10 carbs. Come to the Main Health forum and ask any questions you have. Hope to see you there!

3. cmonmiracle

cmonmiracle Member

Sorry to hear about the loss of your precious kitty, Nikita.

Welcome! You'll find lots of answers here.

4. FurBabiesMama

FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member