Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vegetable (GA)

Vegetable (GA) Member

Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum and my cat Vegetable was just diagnosed today with diabetes. I'm in shock and trying to come to terms with the diagnosis.

Vegetable is my fur baby, she is about 13 and we have had her since she was a baby.

2. Shiloh & Rhonda (GA)

Shiloh & Rhonda (GA) Well-Known Member

What did the vet suggest going forward? Insulin? Diet?

3. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Welcome to FDMB.
    It certainly can be a shock! You can handle this, though, or you wouldn't have come here.
    If you've started insulin, which one are you using and what dose?
    If not, pop over to Cat Info and start reading! A change to low carb canned or raw, over the counter food may drop the glucose 100-200 mg/dL and drop the insulin dose 1-2 units (that saves money!)

4. Vegetable (GA)

Vegetable (GA) Member

Vegetable started on 1 unit twice a day of caninsulin. We took her to the pet store & got her some new food from the list & after only a couple of days she is already doing better!! In fact thisornimg her blood sugar is at 8.4 or 151 and now I'm not sure if I should give her the morning dose of insulin since she's doing well today. I've been testing her blood sugar at home with my testing kit, we make a good pair both of us I have type 2 diabetes. Her sugars are coming down nicely & she is defiantly feeling better, you can see she is starting to get back to her old self again.

5. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Do you know how low she is going?
    If you don't, and can monitor today, shoot, and be prepared to intervene with high carb gravy or syrup. You'll want to test around +3 to +4, which is when the shorter acting insulin in the mixture is likely to hit its lowest glucose level.

6. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Can we get you started using our grid to record your glucose tests? It will help us give you better feedback. Instructions are here.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid: