Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bill Neeboyskey

Bill Neeboyskey New Member

Greetings! Obviously I am new to all of this. My cat B'uno was diagnosed with diabetes about a month ago. He has been responding very well to the insulin from my vet. My problem is that I am on a fixed income and the price for the insulin is pretty steep. My question is can I substitute Humalog (a human insulin) without endangering the life of my cat?

2. Julia Rae

Julia Rae Well-Known Member

Hello Bill exactly what type of humalog insulin is your fur child using? Also what are you feeding are you testing his sugars? Welcome to the group you will find these people to be knowledgeable and willing to help.

3. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Only if you want to dose a very small amount of Humalog every 4 hours. It is a very fast acting insulin, too fast for cats unless frequently dosed.

4. Bill Neeboyskey

He's not using any at the moment. I'm just searching to see if I can use it. He is currently eating Purina DM but I will be switching to a low-carb 100% canned food diet. And yes I am home testing.

5. Bill Neeboyskey

He's not using any at the moment. I'm just searching to see if I can use it. He is currently eating Purina DM but I will be switching to a low-carb 100% canned food diet. And yes I am home testing.

6. Mogmom and Goofus

Mogmom and Goofus Well-Known Member

Are his BG numbers very high? If not, it's possible that a diet change will have a big effect on how much insulin he may need. It always seems more pricey at first, but if only small doses are needed, that helps.

7. Bill Neeboyskey

Initial BG was over 500. It is now around 150-160.

8. Mogmom and Goofus

So it dropped that much with just the diet change? If so, he could drop into normal range with just getting him on a very low/no carb food.

9. Bill Neeboyskey

No, he is on insulin. 2 units twice a day.

10. Shiloh & Rhonda (GA)

Shiloh & Rhonda (GA) Well-Known Member