Newly diagnosed cat (Simba)

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by kextyn, Apr 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kextyn

kextyn New Member

I have a 15 year old cat (Simba) who was just diagnosed with diabetes (and possibly kidney problems as well) a little over a week ago. I've been reading some threads on here but I'm still confused about a lot of stuff. I'm currently stationed in Okinawa, Japan and had to bring Simba in for emergency care at a Japanese vet because of his constipation. Blood tests were done and he had bad renal numbers and very high glucose (around 520 or so.) It's a little difficult to communicate with the vet because it has to be done through a translator but so far I've just been doing what she's told me to. They did two curves during two seperate 12-13 hour periods (two days in a row) then gave me some syringes and a vial to use at home. I've been giving him 1.5 units twice a day and will be bringing him back in tomorrow for another blood test.

I'd like to start doing home testing and need to look into getting the insulin and stuff myself. I had my mom send me a ReliOn Micro and some related testing supplies and hopefully I'll get it this week. But I'm curious about what insulin supplies I should get and where to get it from. I just learned about the pens and thought that would be pretty nice to just dial in the amount and administer it because I've been having issues with bubbles in the syringes the vet gave me but maybe I'm doing something wrong. My cat doesn't seem to mind the injections much, but I do mind waking up at the crack of dawn on weekends to give it to him...oh well, has to be done. Any suggestions for insulin delivery?

2. tuckers mom

tuckers mom Well-Known Member

Re: Newly diagnosed cat

Hi and welcome to the board.

You've learned alot so far, that's great. What type of insulin did the vet give you?