Newly diagnosed diabetic

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Anne & Hyde (GA), May 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anne & Hyde (GA)

    Anne & Hyde (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Well, here we are again but with a different cat. We had a diabetic named Alex 10 years ago. She was a very manageable diabetic for 2.5 years and finally succumbed to lung tumors. We found out this morning that we have another one.

    Hyde will be 14 later this month. She had routine blood work at the vets (needed her distemper shot - no diabetes symptoms) and her BG was 425. She had been 11 lbs but is down to 9 lbs.

    Vet recommends ProZinc, starting at 1.5 u. Is this a good insulin to start with? We used Humulin U with the other one but I know that you cannot get that insulin anymore. What is a good meter to get? We gave away all our old supplies.

    Anne
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2015
  2. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Welcome to FDMB.
    ProZinc is like the old Ultralente and lasts roughly 12 hours.
    Pick up a Target Up and Up meter, or a WalMart ReliOn Confirm or Confirm Micro, plus matching test strips, and lancets for alternate site testing (25 - 28 gauge).
    Cat Info is our go to site for feline nutrition. There are a number of over the counter low carb options such as Friskies pates and Fancy Feast Classic pates.
     
  3. Anne & Hyde (GA)

    Anne & Hyde (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Thanks for the great information. I noticed that other users are posting their cat's numbers in a spreadsheet. Is there a template available on the site?
     
  4. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  5. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Can we get you started using our grid to record your glucose tests? It will help us give you better feedback. Instructions are here.

    Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

    The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

    Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

    From left to right, you enter
    the Date in the first column
    the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
    the Units given (turquoise column)

    Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
    If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
    If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
    and so on.

    Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
    To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

    There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
    If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

    We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

    It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
     
  6. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Welcome Ann and Hyde. Since you haven't used ProZinc before, the protocol we put together might be useful. It is in blue in my signature.
     
  7. Anne & Hyde (GA)

    Anne & Hyde (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Got a meter today and will start testing tonight.

    Also got my spreadsheet created and in my signature.

    thanks for all the assistance.
    Anne
     
  8. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Spreadsheet looks good. Some general guidelines that may help. We usually suggest starting low (.5 to one unit of insulin twice daily) and going slow in the beginning. If you are changing food, that can make a big difference at first - with some kitties an overnight change downward, with some it takes a week or more, so we suggest taking increases slowly until he becomes used to the insulin plus the lower carb food. We also suggest that, until you have some data to know what his reaction to a given dose at a given number might be, that you don't shoot a present under 200. Wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. You want to be sure he is rising, not still falling, and that his number is high enough to shoot.

    Now that you have your spreadsheet up and are testing, you might move over to the Main Health forum. Also, have a look at the PZI forum.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2015
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page