Newly diagnosed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by stormy, Jun 20, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stormy

stormy New Member

Hello. Our cat Stormy has been diagnosed with diabetes. He is 14 yrs old. He is not overweight & we have always fed him canned food twice daily with little dry food. It has been 2 wks on 1.25 units of lantus twice daily and his BG levels are still very high 300-500. We just purchased a tester and have been checking. Is this normal? He is still not himself, ups & downs...sometimes pacing or just out of it. I feel so bad for him. Is this normal? Sometimes pees in litter/sometimes not. I think we need to increase his dose. We bring him to the vet tomorrow for a full curve.

2. Bryan & Princess

Bryan & Princess Member

Welcome to the group, I am just a little past 3 weeks since diagnosed with my Princess so I am no expert but will share my experiences, One thing I recently figured out is how much food can make difference!!!! - YOU ARE TAKING HER FOOD AWAY BEFORE TESTING CORRECT???? What are you feeding "Stormy" (note: my mothers nick name lol) Fancy Feast "Classic" pate is one of the better choices, Friskies Pate is a close 2nd., My Princess is on Vetsulin so I am not sure how Lantus compares, but if you look at my "Glucose Chart" in my signature you will see how ours has gone (I strongly suggest you get a chart going), The "Curve" is very important and so it SELF TESTING, I..... like many here use the Walmart Relion Confirm (a human tester) that only needs .3 sample of blood vs. .5 some require. - What meter are you using because the results on an Cat meter will be different than a human meter? I suggest doing her Glucose tests, feed her, and 20 minutes later give her a shot when she has food in her stomach.