Oct 10 Felix +10.5=104, AMPS=111, +1.5=90, +3=67, +4=80, +6=70, +8=75, +10=120, PMPS=123

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan&Felix(GA)

Member Since 2017
yesterday (and earlier this morning)

Had to do some juggling early this morning with feed and fast, hurry and wait, but Felix was able to get his sucralfate dose when he needed to, he'll get his insulin soon at the planned time, and his bg is low but rising. Whew!

He's had six cycles at this dose, so I think he can take the reduction now, but I'm going to review that material quick now before I shoot. :bookworm:
 
Not sure you want to take the reduction now-- he hasn't really gone low since 10/7 at the vet. I'd maintain the 5.5 for now, especially given the history of DKA.

Oops, just saw on the spreadsheet that you shot 5.25. Never mind on the advice above! Anyway, with a pre-shot of 111, he'll likely ask for that reduction anyway today, so it all works out!
 
Yeah, I thought it looked like he'd have gone lower early this morning if I hadn't started steering earlier than usually called for (since he was needing to fast soon and couldn't wait for it to play out). I also wasn't sure whether to go with 5 or 5.25 but was inclined to higher for the reasons you mentioned.
 
Any thoughts on whether I should grab a +1 test, or can I give him a break until +2? I'm just not oriented to this blue-green territory yet!
 
If you are worried about his patience level, I think you can wait until +2-- he's been holding steady for a while with a slight trend upwards, so even though he's clearly breaking a bounce he doesn't have a ton of downward momentum behind him at the moment (fingers crossed!).

Also, I just realized that I was wrong above-- I missed the green numbers last night, and under SLGS, he's earned that reduction this morning. You are on top of things!
 
@Nan & Amber, Felix went low again. Does he earn another reduction?? I know the depot is still at play from the higher dose. I'm just curious what your advice would be. :D

Technically, any dip under 90 should earn an immediate reduction on SLGS, but with it being a back-to-back reduction and Felix a DKA kitty, I'm not sure. Let's see what he does in the rest of the day (dive or bounce?), and hopefully some folks with more dose experience will weigh in by that time as well.
 
+4=80 Actually, the first strip read 86, but I usually test off my fingernail and the first droplet and strip touched my skin, so I wanted to confirm.

I encountered a similar situation just a few days ago, in my October 7 condo. I don't know if I can link to particular posts, but posts #26 and #27 are about back-to-back reductions. In tonight's case, though, if I take the second reduction down to 5u, that would be a dose I was considering this morning anyway.
 
:joyful:
cat surfing.jpg Surf's up Felix!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top