Panic mode, trying not to

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Lisa and Smoky, Sep 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lisa and Smoky

Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

Trying not to go into panic mode right now. Gave smoky his shot at 8:15pm today. Kept trying to get a BG reading before that but meter said problem with test strip. Finally just opened another box of strips and his BG was at 76! Am giving him corn syrup right now to bring it up a little.
    Now I feel that I am a bad mommy for giving him his shot without having a BG first. I will definitely not give him his shot in the am until I get a BG reading first. When shld I test him again after giving him the corn syrup and a little food if he eats it?

2. Lisa and Smoky

I gave him one unit of vetsulin .

3. MClarke087

MClarke087 Member

I am by no means an expert- but I also give Vetsulin to my guy. One night he got his injection without his BG being tested first (the pet sitter forgot). He was tested AFTER his dose, and his BG was in the 300s and he had been given 6units, which is too much. I fed my guy extra food and watched his BG starting at +3. This method worked for me although he did go down to 165 at +5 and +6, then he began to rise again.
    In my opinion I think feeding him some extra food through the next few hours will be helpful but I wouldn't panic too much due to the low dose of insulin.
    Others have much more experience, and I'm sure they'll chime in soon!

4. Lisa and Smoky

Thanks for the info, smoky is at 76 now and I read on here that below 60 BG is danger zone.

5. Critter Mom

Critter Mom Well-Known Member

Which meter are you using, Lisa; human or pet meter?

How many hours after giving the insulin injection did you get the 76 reading? (Not all members will be in your time zone so it's impossible to work out how far along in the cycle that reading was taken unless you specify it.)