Phoebe's Rebound pt. 38

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by EricH., May 3, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    468 @ AMPS
     
  2. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    466 @ +1
     
  3. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    303 @ +10
     
    Rachel, Kris & Teasel and Sharon14 like this.
  4. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    437 @ PMPS
     
  5. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    355 @ +2
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  6. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Eric, I think you have enough data to show that she needs a bit more still. How would you feel about trying 2.25u sometime this weekend? Is there a cycle you can monitor? You wouldn’t need to do a full curve, just a couple of tests around the nadir time. Do you feel okay with that?
     
  7. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    171 @ +7
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  8. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Saturday would be good.
     
    Djamila, Kris & Teasel and Sharon14 like this.
  9. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    325 @ AMPS
     
  10. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    260 @ +10.5
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  11. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    328 @ PMPS
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  12. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    305 @ +3
     
  13. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    253 @ +11.5
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  14. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Ok Phoebe we’re going to be watching you today. Let’s see what you can do!:cool:
     
    Djamila likes this.
  15. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    323 @ AMPS
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  16. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    334 @ +3
     
  17. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    233 @ +6.5
     
    Kris & Teasel and Sharon14 like this.
  18. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    192 @ +9
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  19. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    203 @ PMPS
    What do I shoot at?
     
  20. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I just gave her 2u and I'm home to monitor.
     
  21. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    That should be fine, Eric. If she's higher in the AM I'd try 2.25 u again.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  22. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    233 @ +1
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  23. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    102 @ +7
     
    Djamila, Kris & Teasel and Sharon14 like this.
  24. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    :cool::cat:
     
  25. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    464 @ AMPS
     
  26. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    What a lovely cycle last night! That 464 this morning is a combination of going lower than she's used to last night (although still very safe), and not quite having enough insulin that cycle because of the reduction. One thing you could consider trying is keeping the dose the same when you get a lower PS like you did last night. She may have hit a higher green, or she might have given similar numbers to what you saw, but with a little better duration. And of course, there is the chance that she might have flirted with some lower numbers. That's where the monitoring comes in. You're doing a great job of getting in those extra tests, so if she does start to dive a bit, you'll know and you can give her some extra food and keep her surfing along in safe territory.

    It can be a little scary to shoot on lower-than-normal numbers, but that's how you start to bring the PS numbers down overall. Figuring out if Phoebe is going to surf or dive is going to take some trial and error - trying the regular dose, seeing what she does, and then using that information for next time.

    At this point, I would lower the dose if she gave you a blue PS just because that's so far different from her typical numbers, but if she's yellow, and you're going to be around, I would try sticking with the regular dose and see what happens. If she gives you a 203 and you're heading out the door for work, then lowering to 2u is probably the best way to go (at this point) since you wont' be there to monitor her.
     
  27. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I like Djamila's analysis. :)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  28. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    So yesterday when Phoebe was 203 @ PMPS you would of shot her with 2.25u instead of 2u? I was going to keep her at 2.25u but when I posed that question Djamilia no one was to be found. So I shot her at 2u and Kris said that was fine.
     
    Djamila likes this.
  29. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    20180505_171303(0).jpg Phoebe yesterday wanting her dinner...
     
  30. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    20180505_171302.jpg Phoebe bossing me around yesterday before dinner was served. Hahaha!
     
  31. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hi, Eric. I was coming at it from the point of view of you not having a lot of experience shooting a very low yellow. I wasn't sure whether you'd be up to test around nadir so I thought the 2 u might give you a little peace of mind. As it was you had a lovely low blue last night. A lot of this is 20/20 hindsight ... Each dose in these situations is an experiment. Next time you can try to be a bit bolder.
     
  32. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Yes, unfortunately, hindsight is usually the best way to know. And when no one is around, you just do the best you can and it's usually better to error on the side of caution like you did. Going with the 2u wasn't a bad decision - she had a great cycle - but it gave us some hints that the 2.25u would likely have been okay. So we just tuck that away for the next time it happens on a cycle you can monitor, try sticking with the dose, and see what happens. Then use that information for the next time...and on and on....

    I think we all wish these kitties came with a crystal ball so we could see what will happen before we make a decision, but alas, hindsight is all we get around here. :rolleyes:

    I love those pictures of Phoebe. Nothing happier than a kitty in the sunshine, and that sticking-out-her-tongue photos is adorable!!!
     
  33. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    216 @ +5.5
     
  34. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Kris hope you didn't misinterpret my post or think I was mad at you? Definitely not! I appreciate everyone's help on here. At times it can be hair-raising trying to navigate the diabetes waters.
     
    Djamila and Becky & Baby Girl GA like this.
  35. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    176 @ +7
     
  36. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you for all your help Djamila!!! Phoebe thanks you as well! :cat:
     
    Djamila and Becky & Baby Girl GA like this.
  37. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    203 @ +9
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  38. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    No offense taken whatsoever! :)
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA and EricH. like this.
  39. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    381 @ PMPS
     
  40. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    295 @ +3
     
  41. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    251 @ +7
     
  42. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    330 @ AMPS
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  43. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Great data from the weekend, Eric! :) Hold that 2.25 u dose tonight and try 2.5 u tomorrow AM. You'll be at work so try for an out the door test in the AM and an in the door test in the PM as well as a before bed test. She has a lot of room to drop before any scary greens so it'll likely be totally non-dramatic.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2018
  44. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    129 @ +10
     
    Kris & Teasel and Sharon14 like this.
  45. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    276 @ PMPS
     
    Sharon14 and Kris & Teasel like this.
  46. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Congrats on shooting a 2.25 u when you have a yellow PMPS! :)
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  47. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    302 @ +2
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  48. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thanks Kris! With your help, Djamila's, and Sharon's as well as others it's easier to shoot bigger.
     
    Kris & Teasel, Djamila and Sharon14 like this.
  49. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Eric, you’re doing a great job taking care of Phoebe!
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  50. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Woohoo! nice job tonight! I agree with Kris that it looks like she can take a bit more insulin, although I think I'd lean towards staying with the 2.25u tomorrow morning, and then doing the increase in the evening since you're able to test more in the evening than you can during the day. It's up to you though - whichever you feel comfortable with. I don't expect Phoebes to go dangerously low with the increase, but I do expect she'll hit a green (hopefully!) since she's been getting into those lower blues with the 2.25u.
     
    EricH. and Kris & Teasel like this.
  51. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    291 @ AMPS
     
    Kris & Teasel and Sharon14 like this.
  52. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    378 @ +1
     
  53. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    228 @ +9.5
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  54. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    393 @ PMPS
     
  55. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    355 @ +2
     
  56. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Alright, Phoebe, give your daddy a nice safe green tonight, okay?
     
  57. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    263 @ +7
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  58. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    300 @ AMPS
     
    Sharon14 and Kris & Teasel like this.
  59. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Oh boy, Phoebes. That is not a green. :oops: Maybe she just needs to work up to it ;)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  60. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You'll get there, Eric. Keeping the same dose AM and PM as you try to get to the most effective dose range is a good strategy. Dosing differently AM and PM is best done when you're refining a dose range after you know where it needs to be.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  61. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Phoebe was a little excited earlier. We had a racoon visitor... 20180508_201356.jpg
     
    Sharon14 and Kris & Teasel like this.
  62. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    40 @ +1
     
  63. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Oh wow! I know they're rather dangerous, but they sure are cute! You live in a really pretty place, Eric!
     
  64. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Ok people we're where you wanted Phoebe...What's next?
     
  65. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    40?!?!
     
  66. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Is that correct? Did she go from 300 to 40 in an hour?!?

    If that's right, do you have any high carb food? If so, give her some. And if you can, test again to make sure that's correct. That's a huge drop really fast.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  67. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    That's what I'm doing. I'll stay off until she trends up.
     
  68. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Error! Correct reading!
    357 @ +1.25
     
    Sharon14, Kris & Teasel and Djamila like this.
  69. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Is it okay for you to go late to work? If you need to leave, you can abort the cycle by just giving her a bunch of high carb food. It will send her high, but you can go to work. If you can go in a little late and stay with her, then give her just a little high carb food to nudge her upwards, but not ridiculously high.
     
  70. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Ah! That sounds better! Oh, those pesky test strips!
     
  71. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    If she got some carbs, you might want to make a note on your spreadsheet since it will impact her for a couple of cycles afterwards and we'll want to be mindful of that.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  72. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I almost had a heart attack!!! :eek:
     
    EricH. and Djamila like this.
  73. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Right?!? I mean, we know Phoebe is a little bouncy, and she's going to hit a lime from time to time along this journey, but that was pretty dramatic! So glad it turned out to be a wonky test strip!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  74. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Whew! Phoebe’s wonky test strip!! Glad it was just that!
    Watching your journey as Baby’s numbers have similarities. I’m increasing her too but still getting 400’s at pm. Just here to watch from afar. Cheering you both on! :):cat::)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  75. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    20180509_074725.jpg Phoebe giving me the I'm OK Dad look!!! But stay home and play! Before I went to work.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2018
  76. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Me too!!!!
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  77. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    244 @ +10
     
  78. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Becky!!! I'm pulling for you and Baby!!!
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  79. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Phew! You had us all worried, there, Eric! Glad that 40 was a wonky test!
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA and EricH. like this.
  80. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    291 @ PMPS
     
  81. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Sorry for the crazy test result and thank you Djamila for jarring my morning brain and mentioning 2nd test!!! That was pre-coffee panic lol! Always 2nd test! I was going to delete it but it'll serve as a reminder.
     
  82. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    We’ve all been there before Eric! I bet that woke you up in a hurry!
    Baby said thank you!!me too..
     
    EricH. likes this.
  83. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    225 @ +3.25
     
  84. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes it woke me up real fast!
     
  85. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    188 @ +7
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2018
  86. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Phoebe is currently at 189. Should I see where she is at in 30 minutes then shoot or shoot now?
     
  87. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    189 @ +11.75
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  88. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    New thread started.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page