? Phoebes SHOULD I GiVE 24 UNITS WITH THESE NUMBERS ?? SHOOT IN 30 MINS pmps 297 +2 188 +6 295 +9 297

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phoebes (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...35-2-5-235-4-173-6-137-8-150-pmps-147.179100/
Seems off this am, bg was up thru the night. But just sleepy this am. Witchhazel working on her chin, and she doesn't mind. Am aiming more on her side belly than on her shoulder so far so good.
So just staying on this dose until she either throws some higher numbers nadir or throws me a low <50.? Am I understanding it all. When do numbers start slipping up again before I use R again? @saltycat @Gill & George @Wendy&Neko
 
Morning Angela,
Sorry she's a bit off this morning, maybe that's impacting her BG, or she's feeling off because she feels better at the lower numbers:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Sending feel better vines.

I'm not sure on the R, but I'm thinking that Lantus seems to be pulling her down into a decent range (even though she is bouncing of some of those low blues and that green) so I would be concerned that if you add R into the picture it might drop her too far. That's just me thinking it through, I'd wait to see what the experienced R folk have to say on the matter, as I could be getting the wrong end of the stick.
 
She does look a little bouncy right now. The good news is she seems to clear those bounces pretty quickly. R is good at bringing numbers down, and the Lantus is good at keeping the numbers down if that makes sense.

I'm by no means an R expert, but would agree with Gill. Looking at the SS I might keep it on the shelf for now. Knowing when NOT to use R is just as hard if not harder then knowing when to use it. Take yesterday's am cycle. A pink amps is icky, but she cleared the bounce and made it to low blues. If you had shot R, the momentum from clearing the bounce combined with the R could have knocked her down into the greens or lower.

This is where it gets tough since there is no one size fits all. If Phoebe was stuck in higher numbers, I would be more inclined to start using R a little more, but one or two pinks can be just a bounce and giving R when the bounce is clearing can be asking for trouble. Since Phoebe has only had 2 R shots, and they had very different effects, we don't have a lot of data yet on how she responds to the R insulin. Eventually you build up an R scale, I think someone sent you an example. Even with the scale, you have to take into account recent trends like a bounce that could be breaking.

She is still seeing a lot of blue and I think giving her a little time to adjust to the new idea that blues are healthy and good for her is a good idea. It's only been a bit over a week that she has consistenly seen blues and some green. You might need to tighten up those patience pants for a few days to see what she decides to do.:p
 
She does look a little bouncy right now. The good news is she seems to clear those bounces pretty quickly. R is good at bringing numbers down, and the Lantus is good at keeping the numbers down if that makes sense.

I'm by no means an R expert, but would agree with Gill. Looking at the SS I might keep it on the shelf for now. Knowing when NOT to use R is just as hard if not harder then knowing when to use it. Take yesterday's am cycle. A pink amps is icky, but she cleared the bounce and made it to low blues. If you had shot R, the momentum from clearing the bounce combined with the R could have knocked her down into the greens or lower.

This is where it gets tough since there is no one size fits all. If Phoebe was stuck in higher numbers, I would be more inclined to start using R a little more, but one or two pinks can be just a bounce and giving R when the bounce is clearing can be asking for trouble. Since Phoebe has only had 2 R shots, and they had very different effects, we don't have a lot of data yet on how she responds to the R insulin. Eventually you build up an R scale, I think someone sent you an example. Even with the scale, you have to take into account recent trends like a bounce that could be breaking.

She is still seeing a lot of blue and I think giving her a little time to adjust to the new idea that blues are healthy and good for her is a good idea. It's only been a bit over a week that she has consistenly seen blues and some green. You might need to tighten up those patience pants for a few days to see what she decides to do.:p
Patience pants tightened and ready. Lol I'm not in a hurry to use, just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing the train. I think her numbers are wonderful. I'm happy with blue :) it's my favorite color. It matches my eyes (blink blink)
Ty salty. We will hang in the blue waters. We do not need to increase insulin either, unless she starts seeing more yellows and pinks at nadir, correct? Or am I now back on the TR increases. This is the 6th day at 23. Mostly blues and greens so seems like a good dose. Am I getting this right.
 
Or am I now back on the TR increases. This is the 6th day at 23. Mostly blues and greens so seems like a good dose. Am I getting this right.
For a high dose cat, it's a bit of a tradeoff. With 24 units, Phoebe spent almost all her time under renal threshold and her lowest numbers were in the 70's so not too close to danger. However, either you or DH had to do a lot more monitoring at night. She did reach green on this 23 unit dose (just barely) so hasn't failed the reduction, but she is bouncier. Neko was the same - on a good dose with 70's nadirs she didn't bounce as much. I think Phoebe's numbers were better on 24 units and you might eventually want to go there again. But it may be easier to do once you've gathered more data on Phoebe in lower numbers. Once you learn her lower number patterns, you will figure out when it's essential to test, and when you don't have to test so can get more sleep.

Agreed with Wes, keep the R on the shelf for now. Just the threat of it being there seems to be working. :cool:
 
More than what we are doing? Or Just in general?
You were doing more late night testing on 24 units than you are on 23 units, to keep her safe in unfamiliar territory. I think over time and as you become comfortable with what she does in green, you won't need to test as much as you did last week.
 
You were doing more late night testing on 24 units than you are on 23 units, to keep her safe in unfamiliar territory. I think over time and as you become comfortable with what she does in green, you won't need to test as much as you did last week.
Hello my name is Angela and I am atestaholic.
 
You are not alone on this board. :p For me it was a hassle getting cheap strips, so I learned to be more conservative with them.
 
I think it's up to you Angela. Going up as Wendy said will probably require some more monitoring until you get comfortable with the lower ranges.
So you'll need to ask yourselves if you feel able to do that in the coming days if you take the dose up.

She doesn't look too bad on this dose though on 24 she was seeing more green and spending more time there.
 
She is spending a lot of time under the renal threshold which is one goal of treating the diabetes. The low numbers are also still pretty new to her. Pushing too far into the greens might cause her to bounce a little more too.
Like Gill said you hold the needle and it is up to you. I don't see any big issue with either dose.
 
Thank
I think it's up to you Angela. Going up as Wendy said will probably require some more monitoring until you get comfortable with the lower ranges.
So you'll need to ask yourselves if you feel able to do that in the coming days if you take the dose up.

She doesn't look too bad on this dose though on 24 she was seeing more green and spending more time there.
Thank you @Gill & George we will wait for the weekend. Both of us are getting sick so that will make it harder to monitor as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top