Pig 1/24 - amps 322; +2 322; pmps 295; +1 331; +2 325; +5 350

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Well, he is staying in his favorite range. However, we did see a low of 275 last night, so that is for sure progress! Things are working out extremely well and I have a lot in progress. Soon, I think he will be feeling even better!

What do I need to know about the switch to Levemir? I still have 4.5 pens of Lantus, so there is time... I just like to know ahead of schedule... :)

amps 322
 
I tried replying to your comment in this thread @Wendy&Neko but, apparently I was doing it wrong. I would like to raw feed or at least partially cook for Pig and Tail both. I have done a ton of research on it, but I am always worried about meat source and the like. Of course, there is always the fear mongering over 'salmonella' poisoning... However, with the fact that both have been on wet, lc food for quite sometime now, their stomachs acidity levels should be able to handle that threat since its not fighting all the carbs.

Now, I refuse to use the meat from a grocery store, or at least from my local store. I do have a source for fresh killed and dressed rabbits, which I am leaning towards. My concern is this, how do you guarantee that it is parasite / disease free? How do you even prepare it? What are some of the precautions?

Rabbit would be a good novel protein for Pig. I just worry that I am going to do something wrong and he will be the one to feel the mistake... :confused:

I guess what I am asking is, what do I need to know about raw / partially cooked? How do I source the meat?
 
Okay... So, I am thinking that I will decrease the R dose for the night and see what happens... @Wendy&Neko said to reduce if I got a yellow ps number. Sooo, that is what we are going to do! Unless told otherwise... lol
 
Now that some of the food / medication prep has worn off... I can be really excited! A YELLOW pre-shot! Whoo Hoo! Let us hope that this can continue. It was an incredibly long day at work, so I was not able to test like I would have liked and it is a shame I missed some lower numbers. However, all that matters is that he saw them and is feeling the benefit. I am very curious to see how tonight will go. Here is to hanging it the yellows!
 
Hmm... We might should have hung out with the .5uR. However, he did eat quite a bit tonight and did not finish it all at once. This could be the remnants of his food spike... Let us hope.
+1 331

P.s. I know I should be backing off of the +1 testing, but with the switch in dosage I wanted to see exactly where he was going to go... lol.
 
On to the other questions. The biggest thing about Levemir is getting used to the later onset and nadir. Typical Lev onset is +4 and nadir +8. Because the nadir is later, that also means lower preshots for you to get used to. We typically start Lev on a lower dose, 70% of what the Lantus dose is at the time. Some cats have a strong initial reaction to the change in insulin, hence the lower starting dose.

As for the Lantus dose, today is cycle 6. If you don't see blue tonight, I would increase tomorrow.

For raw food, I used a premix added to raw, as well as some commercially made raw. The premix added to raw was a cheaper solution, one I used was from FoodFurLife. Dr. Lisa also has a recipe for raw on her Www.catinfo.org website. I think rabbit is one of the options she uses and she lists some sources. I got my meat at the local exotic meat butcher that sells organic, non medicated. Dr. Lisa recommends a quick bake to get rid of bugs on the outside of meat.
 
I got my meat at the local exotic meat butcher that sells organic, non medicated. Dr. Lisa recommends a quick bake to get rid of bugs on the outside of meat.
Okay.. My problem is the isolation. My town has one very small grocery and three, soon to be two, gas stations. We do not have much around. The nearest WalMart is about 30 minutes away. I gave up a vehicle so I could afford Pig's care. Most of everything I have or get is shipped to me. (The internet rocks!) I could order the meat or even the pre-mix as it is well within my budget, but the shipping is NOT. That is outrageous and even more than the food, because it must remain frozen. The connection I have to the rabbit is a private breeder. I believe that she is a chair on one of the local rabbiting clubs. I know that her family and herself eat her meat rabbits and that should be good enough for me, right? I just never know what might be in them. If I partially cook the meat, then it should be okay, right? I will research at the website you listed.... Is there a way to tell about the quality of rabbit meat?
 
Last edited:
Okay.. My problem is the isolation. My town has one very small grocery and three, soon to be two, gas stations. We do not have much around. The nearest WalMart is about 30 minutes away. I gave up a vehicle so I could afford Pig's care. Most of everything I have or get is shipped to me. (The internet rocks!) I could order the meat or even the pre-mix as it is well within my budget, but the shipping is NOT. That is outrageous and even more than the food, because it must remain frozen. The connection I have to the rabbit is a private breeder. I believe that she is a chair on one of the local rabbiting clubs. I know that her family and herself eat her meat rabbits and that should be good enough for me, right? I just never know what might be in them. If I partially cook the meat, then it should be okay, right? I will research at the website you listed.... Is there a way to tell about the quality of rabbit meat?
On second thought... What is in the rabbits has got to be better than what is in the canned stuff right? And even more so better than the dry... hmm. Maybe I need to pick my paranoia battles better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top