PJ PARTY!! 1/9 TAFFY-AMPS 347/+11 168/PMPS 158/+2 75/+3.2 35/+20m 41/+4 39/+5 55/+6 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
Really staying high so far today. He seems to have his tummy discomfort, too. Seeking "fiber" things to eat, been going for the sisal on the scratch post. I gave him some EVO 95% canned and he ate most, but still has a "look" on his face. I always feel so helpless when he has these troubles bcuz I don't know what he needs.

@Barbara & Uncle you had an exciting night! Congrats on the reduction!
 
Julie, is he constipated? Have you tried giving him plain canned pumpkin or baby food squash? Lots of fiber in those. I mixed the squash in with Cinco's breakfast every day and it really helped keep him regular.

Taffy, please come down out of the rafters. It's far too crowded up there today.
 
Julie, is he constipated? Have you tried giving him plain canned pumpkin or baby food squash? Lots of fiber in those. I mixed the squash in with Cinco's breakfast every day and it really helped keep him regular.

Taffy, please come down out of the rafters. It's far too crowded up there today.
He did have a poop early on this morning, but I still always feel like maybe that is the problem (he has had this issue for some time, the seeking fuzz or fibrous things to eat). I have tried miralax and I have tried pumpkin and squash in the past but he doesn't like it. I could try some again.
 
When should I test Taffy again? I hate to keep poking him when there is not much change, but I never know how to predict when I might expect to see movement.
 
If it was me, I'd get a mid-cycle test just to see if he's still pink and then get a +10 or +11 to see if he's coming down any by PMPS.
Didn't do anything mid bcuz I felt like he would still be higher and moving down slowly. Gave him a little break. I did do a +10 and +11 when I saw he was down. His appetite picked up a bit by dinner, so that's good.
 
I'm wondering if he did drop in the mid-cycle and came back up until +10 and then dipped again. The "2nd nadir" of lantus??? I guess I should have gotten that mid test. I am so frustrated at my inablilty to figure out what is going on with my cat. And i don't want to poke him continuously. But I cannot seem to recognize a pattern to tell me when to test. I am so still just winging it!
 
Hmm. Well, I've seen Uncle have a similar pattern where he didn't drop at nadir and come back up at PMPS, but rather just kept dropping slowly all the way through PMPS. He's actually done it quite a lot when he is coming down from a bounce. It does seem to be random other wise, but it really isn't. Maybe be others will be able to pick out patterns.
Taffy got a reduction this morning too!
 
Hmm. Well, I've seen Uncle have a similar pattern where he didn't drop at nadir and come back up at PMPS, but rather just kept dropping slowly all the way through PMPS. He's actually done it quite a lot when he is coming down from a bounce. It does seem to be random other wise, but it really isn't. Maybe be others will be able to pick out patterns.
Taffy got a reduction this morning too!
I'm sure there are patterns and reasons, but I still just can't trust my interpretations.
So great that Uncle is back to his dose he was at before your trip. He didn't take so long to get back on track, after all. I am hoping that I can keep taffy feeling well and eating well so that he can continue to earn his reductions. We have been stuck at this dose a few times now.
 
The only way I ever could begin to see a pattern that they were seeing was to fill in the SS blanks until I did..(then it was ingrained into our routine and we kept doing it!:p) I would read and reread what they were seeing and try and try to see it...:bookworm::bookworm::banghead:o_O
Finally I had enough boxes filled in that when I held the spreadsheet out at arms length I could see a definite pattern! :woot::woot:
Gussie got really used to the testing routine, and he still comes and waits for his test before he gets fed..
If you can figure out how to get some more of those mid tests you might find some explanations there:bighug::bighug: and try holding the thing at arms length just looking for color patterns:woot: you might be surprised what you see!;):bighug::bighug:
 
I've been helped along the way by others being able to see something I could not and letting me know their interpretations.
I get still get tripped up when I think a bounce is clearing because I'll see the numbers coming down, but then they will go up a little and down a little before it really breaks. I think Uncle had pink, yellow and even blue numbers before he broke the one last night. It can be really confusing!
I think he may be heading into another one right now from the hitting the high 40's last night.
 
I am so frustrated at my inablilty to figure out what is going on with my cat. And i don't want to poke him continuously. But I cannot seem to recognize a pattern to tell me when to test. I am so still just winging it!

Patience Grasshopper!!

It was about 4 months before I started to see anything I'd call a "pattern" in China's numbers and it still took quite awhile longer before I felt I understood things well enough to take responsibility for dosing decisions on myself

There aren't a lot of the old-timers still here a lot, but those that remember me from those early days know I felt the same as you....everybody does!!...then one day you'll look at Taffy's spreadsheet and everything will just "click" in your head

And you'll scream "I SEE IT!! There's a PATTERN!!!"
 
Patience Grasshopper!!

It was about 4 months before I started to see anything I'd call a "pattern" in China's numbers and it still took quite awhile longer before I felt I understood things well enough to take responsibility for dosing decisions on myself

There aren't a lot of the old-timers still here a lot, but those that remember me from those early days know I felt the same as you....everybody does!!...then one day you'll look at Taffy's spreadsheet and everything will just "click" in your head

And you'll scream "I SEE IT!! There's a PATTERN!!!"
Taffy's pattern seems to be drama!!!
 
I can see that Wendy is on.
And typing.
I used to add a drop of syrup (karo) when Neko went into the 30's.

Although we don't recommend back to back reductions, I'm going to suggest you consider reducing for a couple of reasons. One, he's doing this after a skip. Two, it looks like you are having to fight to get him up. If it had been a quick dip to the 40's and back up again then you could probably hold the dose. He seems pretty determined.
 
Taffy, you've made your point and got your reducie. Now head for shore! There are sharks out in the deep end!
shark.gif~c200
 
I was originally just stopping by to check in on my way to get some much needed sleep. I've had my quota of excitement for the past few nights.
Looks like you and Taffy are in the best of hands.
Thank you everyone for all you do!
Thank you for waiting with me!! Sweet dreams!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top