? Please advise - to shoot or not too shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there, we are quite new to this adventure and everytime I think I got the logic of it, something surprises me and I don´t know what to do.

3 days ago we switched to 2xtimes a day Caninsulin 3 Units. I shoot her this morning (AMPS @18,4) and when I wanted to shoot her this evening, her BG was 7,2, I fed her and tested her 1 hour later and her BF was 6,7 ... but I was supposed to shoot her 3units...

She ate one low carb Sheba in jelly (85g) but generally she is still on dry Hills Prescription R/d - I want to switch to the wet soon but I need to make the calculation how much calories she was eating and how much wet she should eat then.

But now, the question is. should I shoot her a lower dose - 1unit? should I giver her more food and wait? SHould I wait and shoot her later?

Thank you very much for your advise!

Helena & Murinka
 
Don't give any insulin - can you check her again in an hour, with that number you are safe to skip a dose and a hypo in the night is what you don't need right now. I have to pop out for an hour but will be back and review her spreadsheet.
 
Don't give any insulin - can you check her again in an hour, with that number you are safe to skip a dose and a hypo in the night is what you don't need right now. I have to pop out for an hour but will be back and review her spreadsheet.

Thank you Alexi, will do.
 
ok - I'm back and have had a look at the spreadsheet. I am quite surprised at the advice given by your vet, as the start dose looks high (not to mention giving Caninsulin once daily) and I think the dose is still too high.

Has Murinka ever had ketones?
Do you know what the sugar level was at diagnosis?
How much does Murinka weigh?
Do you know what her ideal weight should be?

It may be best to start again with the dosing but if you can answer the questions I can have a think about what the best way to deal with this would be. I see the +2 was 7 so she is in nice safe numbers. What has happened with the high doses is she has been going too low then bouncing up again so we need to give her a little rest such that she gets blue mid cycle numbers from a good safe start point, it may take a little while to find her ideal dose but it is better to start low with the insulin dose then slowly raise it. It looks as though her dose was too high from the start.

Can you answer the questions and then I can try to make a suggestion with where to go from here.
 
ok - I'm back and have had a look at the spreadsheet. I am quite surprised at the advice given by your vet, as the start dose looks high (not to mention giving Caninsulin once daily) and I think the dose is still too high.

Has Murinka ever had ketones?
Do you know what the sugar level was at diagnosis?
How much does Murinka weigh?
Do you know what her ideal weight should be?

It may be best to start again with the dosing but if you can answer the questions I can have a think about what the best way to deal with this would be. I see the +2 was 7 so she is in nice safe numbers. What has happened with the high doses is she has been going too low then bouncing up again so we need to give her a little rest such that she gets blue mid cycle numbers from a good safe start point, it may take a little while to find her ideal dose but it is better to start low with the insulin dose then slowly raise it. It looks as though her dose was too high from the start.

Can you answer the questions and then I can try to make a suggestion with where to go from here.

Yes, it was way too hight - I know it now, but I had no clue back then :( - the vet is I think more experienced with dogs where as far as I understood Caninsulin can be taken once a day ... after reading stuff here I came to a conclusion that her dose is a nonsense - too hight and once a daily and we agreed with the vet to split in 2 per day. First he said 4units morning and evening but she was slighty hypo and I had once decreased her PM dose, then he decreased her dose to 3units 2xday. But today she only had her morning shot of 3 units and was in good numbers even after 12 hours after the shot!? Why? When at the begining with 7 units in the morning she had above 20 in the evening. This makes me desperate :(

But to your questions:
- I don´t think anything about ketones and don´t think she´s been tested and the vet never said anything about ketones - he only took her blood
- I think she was at 25,8 but not sure - I have the report from the at home and Im out off the town now and back tomorrow and I will complete the spreadsheet with numbers from the first day she was diagnosed - but basically AM she was around from 18 to 25 and the evening the same.
- when she was diagnosed her weight was 5,7 kg - she lost around 3 kg before we figured out something was wrong. she was overweight for ages (8,7 kg) despite our effors end her diet (she´s been on Hills Prescription R/D - I know now that this was not good for her, but again, back then I had no clue, that this kind of dry food is terrible and not appropriate at all ...).
- her ideal weight actually should be around 5.5 kg. But I think she might have lost a bit, because I took her for vacation with me and here she´s moving much more than at home so she might have lost a little bit, but I can´t weight her here.

I spoke to the vet this morning and we agreed we stick to 3units 2 x daily, I test her and call him on Tuesday noon to update him about her number. I don´t want to blame him, I think he´s trying his best and he´s available almost all the time, I can call him almost 24/7 but it seems not to be enough...

I would be very grateful for your suggestion. Thanks a lot for your time and advice!
Best from Prague. Helena
 
With Caninsulin the dose decisions are based on how low the dose takes the blood sugar, the pre shot tests are to check if it is safe to give the insulin, looking at 8/8 she went from 19.6 to 4.1 on 5 units which is a big drop, 22/8 she went into hypo numbers on 7 units and did the same again yesterday on 3 units. What happens with such a steep drop is that the body's protective mechanism comes in to release sugar from stores in the liver but eventually it can't do that anymore. This is why her pre shot numbers looked ok even with a steep drop.

You can check for ketones on a urine strip test, I use keto-diastix, I don't know what is available to you but you can buy some from any pharmacy that sells diabetic supplies or on-line. It is a good idea to check the urine periodically whilst the cat is on insulin.

It doesn't sound as though Murinka has had ketones.

The manufacturers recommended start dose for Caninsulin is 0.5-1 unit per 24 hours per kg of ideal body weight (split into 2 doses). I would suggest being at the lower end of that once you have a number that it is safe to give insulin. If she still is in the blue or low yellows tomorrow you could skip again if you feed her the low carb food - if she is purple numbers or above then you could try 1 unit if you can monitor during the day - what you are looking for at the moment is blue numbers mid cycle. If she has a small drop in her numbers at +2 then that is what we are looking for. Provided she is giving you ok numbers then you can hold that dose for 6 doses and re-evaluate.

In some cats a hypo can kick start the pancreas into producing insulin, and the switch to low carb food can bring numbers down dramatically. It may be you just want to give her the low carb from now on as this morning's dose should be out of her system so an ideal time to change over the food, some cats even can come off insulin all together with a low carb diet. Can you post her AMPS number as I should be around, not sure what time zone you are in - how many hours away is she due for insulin?
 
With Caninsulin the dose decisions are based on how low the dose takes the blood sugar, the pre shot tests are to check if it is safe to give the insulin, looking at 8/8 she went from 19.6 to 4.1 on 5 units which is a big drop, 22/8 she went into hypo numbers on 7 units and did the same again yesterday on 3 units. What happens with such a steep drop is that the body's protective mechanism comes in to release sugar from stores in the liver but eventually it can't do that anymore. This is why her pre shot numbers looked ok even with a steep drop.

You can check for ketones on a urine strip test, I use keto-diastix, I don't know what is available to you but you can buy some from any pharmacy that sells diabetic supplies or on-line. It is a good idea to check the urine periodically whilst the cat is on insulin.

It doesn't sound as though Murinka has had ketones.

The manufacturers recommended start dose for Caninsulin is 0.5-1 unit per 24 hours per kg of ideal body weight (split into 2 doses). I would suggest being at the lower end of that once you have a number that it is safe to give insulin. If she still is in the blue or low yellows tomorrow you could skip again if you feed her the low carb food - if she is purple numbers or above then you could try 1 unit if you can monitor during the day - what you are looking for at the moment is blue numbers mid cycle. If she has a small drop in her numbers at +2 then that is what we are looking for. Provided she is giving you ok numbers then you can hold that dose for 6 doses and re-evaluate.

In some cats a hypo can kick start the pancreas into producing insulin, and the switch to low carb food can bring numbers down dramatically. It may be you just want to give her the low carb from now on as this morning's dose should be out of her system so an ideal time to change over the food, some cats even can come off insulin all together with a low carb diet. Can you post her AMPS number as I should be around, not sure what time zone you are in - how many hours away is she due for insulin?

Alexi, we are + 1 hour your time.

Her morning shot is supposed to be at 8 AM (7 AM your time), in 8,5 hours. So now she´s + 15 hours after her morning shot giving the fact that I skiped the evening shot.

So let me repeat what do you suggest:
- if tomorrow morning she´s in blue or low yelllow, I don´t shot her.
- If she is in high yellow and above I give her 1 unit and will monitor her and evening the same?

But what if her numbers are not ok during the day, what should I do then? And one thing - we´re coming back home tomorrow which means 2hour car drive which she doesnt like at all - should I take it into account somehow?

And yet another thing - she´s a lazy cat, in Prague she lives only in a flat and she almost doesn´t move. Now we have spent 10 days in our contryhouse and she has become a completely diff cat - running, moving, playing - I guess it also helps to her numbers and Im affraid what will happen once we´ll back home to our daily routine when she only sleeps and eats :(

As for the food - I am very keen on changing the diet completely, I only don´t know how much should I give her of wet so that it will be more or less the same that she had up to now.

Thx a lot.
 
If you are travelling tomorrow then you could skip her morning shot and start her insulin again in the evening, I have other cats on Felix jelly pouches and they have one pouch each twice a day, I think your pouches are about the same calories. I weigh Cappuccino every week, and adjust her food if she is over target weight, I try to keep her slim as that is what my vet advised and she gave me the target weight.
 
If you are travelling tomorrow then you could skip her morning shot and start her insulin again in the evening, I have other cats on Felix jelly pouches and they have one pouch each twice a day, I think your pouches are about the same calories. I weigh Cappuccino every week, and adjust her food if she is over target weight, I try to keep her slim as that is what my vet advised and she gave me the target weight.

OK, thank so much! I will try my best.
 
If you are travelling tomorrow then you could skip her morning shot and start her insulin again in the evening, I have other cats on Felix jelly pouches and they have one pouch each twice a day, I think your pouches are about the same calories. I weigh Cappuccino every week, and adjust her food if she is over target weight, I try to keep her slim as that is what my vet advised and she gave me the target weight.

Alexi, her AMPS was 17.1. In the end, I gave her 2units and will feed wet food (I don´t know why didn´t feel like decreasing to 1unit as per your advice, please do not take it as not enough of respect for your knowledge and experience, maybe it´s partly the fear from the vet, it´s sad and shouldn´t be this way but ...).

I will test her and Im curious to see what numbers we will get.
Thank you once again!
 
I am also curious to see so I will check in later on, don't be scared of the vet, you will be able to teach him about the diabetic cat and then he will be in a better place to advise other owners about the care of their cat. Will you be able to do a +2 test?
 
I am also curious to see so I will check in later on, don't be scared of the vet, you will be able to teach him about the diabetic cat and then he will be in a better place to advise other owners about the care of their cat. Will you be able to do a +2 test?


THANK YOU!

Yes I will monitor +2 and then again ideally when?
 
Looking at her previous numbers I would try a +4 and +6 if you can, I appreciate you are travelling today so may not be the easiest to do.
 
Looking at her previous numbers I would try a +4 and +6 if you can, I appreciate you are travelling today so may not be the easiest to do.

it might be feasible.

Last question: she ate one low carb pate of 85g. she looks at me like being still hungry.. should I give her a bit more? Should I resist? so far she ate 1/2 pate plus cca 25g of the dry R/D Hills.
 
You could give her a bit more wet food, my cat is always hungry these days but I've noticed it is worse when her levels are high. Other people find their cats hungry when their levels are low, you need to do what you are comfortable doing.
 
You could give her a bit more wet food, my cat is always hungry these days but I've noticed it is worse when her levels are high. Other people find their cats hungry when their levels are low, you need to do what you are comfortable doing.

@ +2 she´s 2,9! so you really were right about 1unit. I gave her 1/2 gourmet gold pate with a bit of grape sugar. Almost impossible to test her when she´s in low numbers..
 
Helena, have I got this right? She was 17.1 at morning pre-shot and then 2.9 two hours later??? That's a massive drop. Can you test again to check? You definitely need to keep a close eye on her to make sure she doesn't go any lower. She may need a little honey on her gums.

I haven't been following your posts up to now but from what I have read I would have to say that your vet's dosing suggestion is high. Most cats would start out at 1u twice a day and go up from there IF NECESSARY.

@Alexi @Elizabeth and Bertie can you look in here please?
 
Helena, have I got this right? She was 17.1 at morning pre-shot and then 2.9 two hours later??? That's a massive drop. Can you test again to check? You definitely need to keep a close eye on her to make sure she doesn't go any lower. She may need a little honey on her gums.

I haven't been following your posts up to now but from what I have read I would have to say that your vet's dosing suggestion is high. Most cats would start out at 1u twice a day and go up from there IF NECESSARY.

@Alexi @Elizabeth and Bertie can you look in here please?

I will test her in 1 hour or so, I gave her to eat and also with a bit of dextrose (quick grape sugar). her dosing and numbers are a mystery to me ...
 
I understand your confusion Helena, this is not easy at first. The thing is, you have to give enough insulin for a cat to stay in healthy numbers but not too much to create a potentially "hypo" situation. This can be serious and is why we are saying that your dose may be high. Please keep a very close eye on Murinka and test again when you can. You really don't want her going lower...
 
@ +2 she´s 2,9! so you really were right about 1unit. I gave her 1/2 gourmet gold pate with a bit of grape sugar. Almost impossible to test her when she´s in low numbers..
I will test her in 1 hour or so, I gave her to eat and also with a bit of dextrose (quick grape sugar). her dosing and numbers are a mystery to me ...
Helena, please TEST RIGHT NOW. Don't wait.

With low numbers like that you really need to be testing every 15 minutes.
You do not want her dropping any lower than this.

Please update us ASAP.

Eliz
 
Helena, your kitty still has maybe several hours to go until the peak (lowest number) of the cycle. She may drop further.

Simple sugars like glucose/syrup act quickly, but they also wear off relatively quickly. You cannot rely on a single amount of glucose to carry your kitty through the cycle.
Whilst this 2.9 may be OK you do not want her dropping any lower.
.
 
Helena, for now, don't worry about running out of strips, if necessary don't give insulin until you have strips again. Right now it is vital that she doesn't drop lower. Please give more dextrose or honey.
 
That's too low.
Yes, give a little dextrose now.
.

I gave 1 tbspoon of dextrose. Should I give her some more food? My hands are trembling. I don´t understand at all why did it happen?!

Can this massive drop be only because of the wet food? she was on dry till yesterday.
When should I test her again? Have to say she starts looking better, when she´s not well - in low numbers she goes under the bed and now she stayed on a chair.
 
Helena, for now, don't worry about running out of strips, if necessary don't give insulin until you have strips again. Right now it is vital that she doesn't drop lower. Please give more dextrose or honey.


(((Helena))), I know it's scary, but you're doing really well.
Test again in 10 - 15 minutes to ensure that she's not dropping any lower, and just keep an eye on her for any unusual symptoms.

Do you have any cat food in gravy?
.

No I don´t :( but in emergency I can give her a bit of this damned dry R/D Hills?
 
Should I give her some more food?
If she will eat a small amount of food that would be good (we don't want to fill her up in case she needs to eat more later).

You have a couple of options.
You can give a small amount of her ordinary low carb food. And then repeat giving food/glucose to keep her numbers up as necessary until she's past the peak of the cycle.

Or, if it seems likely that you will run out of test strips - or if you're not sure that you can manage the first option - then another option is to give a higher carb food and basically 'abort the cycle'.

Maybe do another test and make a decision from that point?
.
 
Is it about 2.5 hours since the shot now?
From the SS it looks like there may still be perhaps another 2.5 hours to go until the peak of the cycle.
.
 
If she will eat a small amount of food that would be good (we don't want to fill her up in case she needs to eat more later).

You have a couple of options.
You can give a small amount of her ordinary low carb food. And then repeat giving food/glucose to keep her numbers up as necessary until she's past the peak of the cycle.

Or, if it seems likely that you will run out of test strips - or if you're not sure that you can manage the first option - then another option is to give a higher carb food and basically 'abort the cycle'.

Maybe do another test and make a decision from that point?
.
Sounds like a plan. I´ll test her in 10 minutes, she looks much more better - she started make her hygiene.

If she goes up after the dextrose, can she afterward drop again? I unfortunatelly don´t know exactly when her nadir is.
 
it´s 3h15 minutes from her shot
Okey dokey.
It's good that she's looking better.
Would be good to get another test as soon as you can, just to check that the numbers are coming up and that they aren't dropping further.

If she goes up after the dextrose, can she afterward drop again?
Yes. (In my own cat it will wear off after about an hour).
Dextrose/glucose/honey work the fastest, but also wear off relatively quickly
Ordinary food takes a little longer to take effect, but lasts in the system longer.
Dry food takes a little longer to take effect, but can last in the system for quite a long time. (But it can be used in an emergency).

If the dextrose is raising her blood glucose OK, then it may be that you only need to follow it with some ordinary low carb food. Let's see what the next test result is.
.
 
Okey dokey.
It's good that she's looking better.
Would be good to get another test as soon as you can, just to check that the numbers are coming up and that they aren't dropping further.


Yes. (In my own cat it will wear off after about an hour).
Dextrose/glucose/honey work the fastest, but also wear off relatively quickly
Ordinary food takes a little longer to take effect, but lasts in the system longer.
Dry food takes a little longer to take effect, but can last in the system for quite a long time. (But it can be used in an emergency).

If the dextrose is raising her blood glucose OK, then it may be that you only need to follow it with some ordinary low carb food. Let's see what the next test result is.
.
It´s driving me crazy! Thank you for your support. How on earth she could drop that low. I resigned and gave her a bit of dry as emergency just to be sure and she ate it with apetite. Im going to test her.
 
Helena, she can drop that low because had had too much insulin in her system. Carry on as you are for the moment and keep testing until she shows higher numbers.
When this is resolved, please have a word with your vet to tell him what has happened and that we think the dose is too high for safety.
I am going out soon but Elizabeth may be around for a while. Good luck!
 
Okey dokey.
It's good that she's looking better.
Would be good to get another test as soon as you can, just to check that the numbers are coming up and that they aren't dropping further.


Yes. (In my own cat it will wear off after about an hour).
Dextrose/glucose/honey work the fastest, but also wear off relatively quickly
Ordinary food takes a little longer to take effect, but lasts in the system longer.
Dry food takes a little longer to take effect, but can last in the system for quite a long time. (But it can be used in an emergency).

If the dextrose is raising her blood glucose OK, then it may be that you only need to follow it with some ordinary low carb food. Let's see what the next test result is.
.

It´s going up 4,2... I will test her in about 2 hours, okay?
 
It´s going up 4,2... I will test her in about 2 hours, okay?
4.2 is good!
You're doing brilliantly, Helena! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
That rise is from the dextrose. And it may well be that the dry food that you've just given will keep the blood glucose up now.
However, if it were my cat I would not leave it longer than an hour before testing again, just to be sure that the numbers are either holding or rising.

Ideally, it's good to see that there are 3 rising numbers in succession, and/or that you are past the peak of the cycle.
But I do understand that you are getting low on test strips.

Eliz
 
Oh, forgot to say...
Clearly the dose needs to be reduced again!

As to why Murinka's numbers are getting lower, there are several possible reasons.
Reducing the carb content of the diet can reduce the blood glucose a lot.
Also, it may be that Murinka's body is starting to heal, and that means that her need for insulin is less.
She may even be starting to produce more insulin of her own...
.
 
Oh, forgot to say...
Clearly the dose needs to be reduced again!

As to why Murinka's numbers are getting lower, there are several possible reasons.
Reducing the carb content of the diet can reduce the blood glucose a lot.
Also, it may be that Murinka's body is starting to heal, and that means that her need for insulin is less.
She may even be starting to produce more insulin of her own...
.

She also moves more than she used to, which might also be helpful and Im affraid it will change after we´re back home in our flat.

So if her numbers are okay, I´ll give her 1 unit in the evening? and the same tomorrow morning?
 
A quick note on dry food:
Most people here don't use dry food in low blood glucose situations, because the effects of the carbs can last a long time in the cat's system.
However, there are times when it can be useful...
If the caregiver is unable to monitor the cat for any reason, ie. not enough test strips, or will be out of the house and not able to test, then they may give dry food precisely because the effects of it can last quite a long time. They may also give dry if the circumstances dictate that high carb food is needed and they have no other alternatives available.

If the caregiver is going to be at home, and is able to test, then usually what happens is that the caregiver will give food (or glucose/syrup/dextrose) as appropriate; test at intervals; and then repeat the action until the cat is past the peak of the cycle.
Sometimes ordinary low carb food is sufficient.
Sometimes medium or higher carb food is needed (quite a few people use the gravy from higher carb food).
Occasionally glucose/syrup/dextrose is needed.
Very occasionally, in certain circumstances, dry food is used.
.
 
So if her numbers are okay, I´ll give her 1 unit in the evening? and the same tomorrow morning?
Yes, that sounds like a plan, as long as her numbers are OK.
You may see higher numbers this evening after the low numbers today (and higher carb food) but don't worry about those: Still reduce the dose to one unit.

Do be aware, Helena, that as you reduce the carb content of Murinka's diet her blood glucose may continue to drop, so the dose may need to be reduced yet again.... ;)

Well done for coping with this today! I fully understand how scary it is....

((((HUGS))))

Eliz
 
Yes, that sounds like a plan, as long as her numbers are OK.
You may see higher numbers this evening after the low numbers today (and higher carb food) but don't worry about those: Still reduce the dose to one unit.

Do be aware, Helena, that as you reduce the carb content of Murinka's diet her blood glucose may continue to drop, so the dose may need to be reduced yet again.... ;)

Well done for coping with this today! I fully understand how scary it is....

((((HUGS))))

Eliz

Dear Eliz, Thank you very much for everything. it´s such a releive that I know Im not only by myself in this and that there are people like you helping all of us lost in the middle of diabetes and not appropriate attitude and accurate info from our vets ... :bighug:

She´s now 3.8 (it´s + 5) so she dropped from last test (4,2) as obviously the glucose is going out. But for the time being I would do nothing but test her in 1 hour again, to see whether the dry food have already started to raise her sugar. what do you think?

My husbands keeps asking me: do you think that the vets they don´t have a clue that the dry food it´s kind of evil for them, how come they don´t know anything about low carb food diet? And I don´t know what to answer... Yes how come?!
 
I'd think the dry food would have started to have an effect by now. I'm surprised her numbers haven't jumped up higher, actually (perhaps because dextrose is also wearing off...)

Since there is a slight drop (though the numbers are very similar) you could just give a snack of ordinary low carb food.
From the data that you have on your SS, Murinka should, hopefully, be close to the peak of the cycle by now....

My husbands keeps asking me: do you think that the vets they don´t have a clue that the dry food it´s kind of evil for them, how come they don´t know anything about low carb food diet? And I don´t know what to answer... Yes how come?!
Unfortunately, many vets do continue to recommend and sell dry food... I think the 'low carb diet' approach is not yet common knowledge...
Vets get very little education about feline nutrition, and some of that education is actually sponsored by the (dry) cat food manufacturers.... :rolleyes:

Eliz
 
Sorry I haven't been around but it looks as though you have had good advice already. What we don't know is what she did yesterday to end up with those blue numbers, so can you hold off giving a dose this evening until you have posted her numbers and what she ate. If you are running out of strips we really don't want a repeat overnight. It will be ok to skip the dose again, when can you get more strips?
 
Sorry I haven't been around but it looks as though you have had good advice already. What we don't know is what she did yesterday to end up with those blue numbers, so can you hold off giving a dose this evening until you have posted her numbers and what she ate. If you are running out of strips we really don't want a repeat overnight. It will be ok to skip the dose again, when can you get more strips?

Alexi, I should have listen to you and gave you only 1unit this morning ...

Yesterday evening low numbers are a mystery to me ...
I have 6 strips. I think I might be able to have some spare this evening - our vet is next door and he´s open till 7PM our time and when back home Im might go there and buy some spare. Otherwise I will have them by tomorrow morning. But also tomorrow I can´t watch her closely - I have to go to work but luckily will be back around 1PM my time...
 
Hi Helena,
I just want to say that I'm sorry you've had such a scare with your lovely kitty, Murinka. I've been reading this thread and I'm SO glad you've had good advice to get you through this. This is definitely the best place to be when you have a diabetic cat. Take care. I hope Murinka continues to improve.
 
All data is useful, so we now know 2 units is too much, it may be that 1 unit is also too much as some cats are very sensitive to insulin after hypos. Are you able to measure 0.5 units on your syringes? Cats can tolerate high glucose levels very well so it will be safer to let her run a little high. Let's see what she does for the rest of the day while I have a think about the best way to handle this situation.
 
All data is useful, so we now know 2 units is too much, it may be that 1 unit is also too much as some cats are very sensitive to insulin after hypos. Are you able to measure 0.5 units on your syringes? Cats can tolerate high glucose levels very well so it will be safer to let her run a little high. Let's see what she does for the rest of the day while I have a think about the best way to handle this situation.

We just got home after 2 car drive - uf :) she really REALLY doesn´t like it -

I tested her just before we left and she was at 8,3 (it was +7.5), she is supposed to have her evening shot in 1,5 hour in 8 PM my time (at 7 PM of your time).

I have U40 syringe and the smallest unit is 1 unit so 0,5 at this syringe would be quite inaccurate. I will test her around 8 PM and I will be very greatful if you could give me a piece of advise what should I do this evening and tomorrow morning when I have to head to the office. And I also have only 5 strips till tomorrow noon :(

I have also completed her number from the first day after she was diagnosed and I think that the vet really made a mistake in dosing at the beginning. Uf ...

Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top