Sunny17
Member Since 2018
Folks, we have been having a lot of trouble regulating Astrophe's sugar levels with Lantus, and finally, after 6 months of struggle, we decided to get a Calibri Freestyle Libre continuous sensor to figure out what's going on.
The sensor takes a reading every 10 minutes, so we have a lot of data. We also verified the sensor with prick testing. The sensor has yielded a lot of rich data over two weeks that we are at a loss to interpret.
Please see attached graphs (please ignore the spreadsheet for now)
(1) A 14 day graph of blood sugar, doses every 12 hours, with the dose given in red
(2) Zoomed views for 2 days
Please note:
(1) The vertical axis represents the blood sugar reading at any given time (so for example, the nadir on 1/28 midnight was 80)
(2) The horizontal axis is days (each grid division is 12 hours)
(3) The red numbers is each Lantus dose in units given.
Observations:
(1) Lantus seems to not be lasting long enough. You can see in the graph that the nadir seems to happen in about 4 hours, and by 8 hours or so the blood sugar is already back to the pre-shot levels.
(2) This results in remarkable highs and lows - I had thought Lantus would allow for a smoother graph due to depot action? Could folks chime in here?
(3) In the second week, Lantus also seemed to be losing its efficacy. Nadirs seemed higher, and even increasing the dose (from 3.5 to 4) wasn't bringing them down. The first week nadirs were below 100 with doses of 3.0. In the second week, nadirs are higher (200+) even with increased doses of 3.75 or more.
Questions:
(1) Is this the blood sugar curve we should expect with Lantus? Or is there something wrong?
(2) Since nadirs are at 4 hours, and in 8 hours you're back to pre-shot values, should we consider three times a day dosing?
(3) What can we do to reduce the large peaks and drops?
(4) Sometimes a dose results in a drop of 350 (e.g. 1/30 PM) - but sometimes only a drop of 150 or less (e.g. 2/3 AM)
(5) Any thoughts on why nadirs are rising even with increased doses? Insulin resistance?
(6) Should we consider a different insulin?
(7) Any other advice? We still have high sugar levels and there is sugar in the urine.
We are at a loss. Would be grateful for folks advice and thoughts.
Thank you so much!
The sensor takes a reading every 10 minutes, so we have a lot of data. We also verified the sensor with prick testing. The sensor has yielded a lot of rich data over two weeks that we are at a loss to interpret.
Please see attached graphs (please ignore the spreadsheet for now)
(1) A 14 day graph of blood sugar, doses every 12 hours, with the dose given in red
(2) Zoomed views for 2 days
Please note:
(1) The vertical axis represents the blood sugar reading at any given time (so for example, the nadir on 1/28 midnight was 80)
(2) The horizontal axis is days (each grid division is 12 hours)
(3) The red numbers is each Lantus dose in units given.
Observations:
(1) Lantus seems to not be lasting long enough. You can see in the graph that the nadir seems to happen in about 4 hours, and by 8 hours or so the blood sugar is already back to the pre-shot levels.
(2) This results in remarkable highs and lows - I had thought Lantus would allow for a smoother graph due to depot action? Could folks chime in here?
(3) In the second week, Lantus also seemed to be losing its efficacy. Nadirs seemed higher, and even increasing the dose (from 3.5 to 4) wasn't bringing them down. The first week nadirs were below 100 with doses of 3.0. In the second week, nadirs are higher (200+) even with increased doses of 3.75 or more.
Questions:
(1) Is this the blood sugar curve we should expect with Lantus? Or is there something wrong?
(2) Since nadirs are at 4 hours, and in 8 hours you're back to pre-shot values, should we consider three times a day dosing?
(3) What can we do to reduce the large peaks and drops?
(4) Sometimes a dose results in a drop of 350 (e.g. 1/30 PM) - but sometimes only a drop of 150 or less (e.g. 2/3 AM)
(5) Any thoughts on why nadirs are rising even with increased doses? Insulin resistance?
(6) Should we consider a different insulin?
(7) Any other advice? We still have high sugar levels and there is sugar in the urine.
We are at a loss. Would be grateful for folks advice and thoughts.
Thank you so much!
Attachments
Last edited:
