? ??PM DOSE DUE PMPS 57 Taffy 11/22-AMPS 165, shot 2u, +2 219, +5 128, +10 95

Status
Not open for further replies.
Haha....I know how late you were up...I'm brewing strong java too:coffee::coffee:
Giving you a bump up
ETA instant CafeBustelo available right now CHEAP at Target is really good espresso instant..I've converted many from their machines with it!
 
Bump again for dose help..
You should change your title to Need to shoot, Dose Help
Oh gads, more homework. ok changing title. are you bumping me cuz i cant learn anything new at the moment? SEE? I CANT EVEN PULL OF PUNCTUATION AND CAPITALIZATION. dON'T WE GET A DAY OFF AFTER THEY MAKE US PULL AN ALL-NIGHTER...?
 
If you're following TR then yes I'd shoot. You learned a lot last night with handling low numbers. Are you comfortable doing that again if needed? If you shoot, then get a +1 and +2. Think I saw that you don't have any HC food. Do you at least have honey or karo if needed?
 
Well, I shot full dose. I'll be home most of morning, run out in between checks to get more test strips and gravy food.
 
If you're following TR then yes I'd shoot. You learned a lot last night with handling low numbers. Are you comfortable doing that again if needed? If you shoot, then get a +1 and +2. Think I saw that you don't have any HC food. Do you at least have honey or karo if needed?
I do have some corn syrup.

Nervous but not nervous. New in these numbers. When I shot a 190 he bounced and last night he went down when I shot in the 100s. Both of those were nighttime. Day time can be different though, I suppose.
 
Nervous but not nervous
He's on his way up instead of down and might be a chance he'll bounce a little from those greens. Hope he stays nice and flat for you. If you keep your title updated it will help us quickly keep an eye on you in case he decides to head down again.
 
Hi, Im running some errands, mailing a well deserved letter ;) but will be back and checking in off and on. Just fyi I found Honey worked far better with Gussie. I could stir it into his LC food of choice and a) he tolerated it whereas he HATED the Karo and b) because it stays with the system longer it helped even him out as I stayed the drop. Mixing with the LC gives the system something to ride on after the sugar boost starts to wear off.
Karo was a fast bump and an equally fast wear off for Gussie and it was a bear to clean up from where he flung it in disgust.:p
ETA you are in expert hands with the folks onboard your post now!
headed out BBL
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...34-2-82-2-5-75-3-76-4-74.168505/#post-1826907

Damn. Posting on this board is the hardest part of all of this, especially starting a new thread with correct tile, link, etc., first thing in the morning between testing feeding poking when you've been up most of the night with the testing...
seriously, it's like finishing your term paper on the morning it's due. I need starbucks to deliver
LOL you crack me up, at least you still have a sense of humour after little sleep:bighug::bighug::bighug:

A little thing I used to do was to start my post the night before (I'm not a morning person), so I would half write the title
ie 11/22 George AMPS
Then pop the link in the post and leave the browser open, then in the morning if it was an emergency, I would post up with the prob/question but it saved me faffing with trying to link previous post etc when I was half asleep, and all I would have to do was complete the title with the amps and the question I had.

Good Job Shooting, I'm sorry I wasn't about earlier, had to nip out to walk my dogs, just got back now, they've been cooped up all day it's been raining cats and dogs here :eek: (we needed it though)

This mornings amps is him on his way up, so you know that at the moment his numbers are trending up, remember that when you shoot you are not shooting the number you see now but rather the number he will be when he onsets, (somewhere around +2 usually with lantus, another case of ECID). This morning as his numbers are likely trending up he will hopefully not have as a dramatic drop as he did last night. Last night the numbers were trending down as his bounce was breaking so, when he hit onset at around +2 the combined action of him reaching onset and his bounce continuing to clear resulted in that large early drop you saw. That doesn't mean that you wouldn't shoot a falling PS, in fact it's often described as 'a gift', but it is important to be aware that you are doing that and get in there early with the tests. Whenever I shot a falling PS I would always get a +1 so I could stay on top of the numbers encouraging the surf by feeding his snacks earlier, shooting a falling number usually resulted in great healing cycles for George.:D

You should be OK for a +2, I'm off to my yoga class in a bit will check in when I get back.
 
Sorry for the delay. +2 at 219 so we're good. I'll def be checking again. Got side tracked feeding outside cats and then my other indoor boy vomited up his breakfast wet food (Baby Kitty, dry kibble addict currently trying to transition, had first pancreatitis attack week after Taffy's diabetes Dx) Neverending with these creatures.

No nap for me...stuff to do! Waaaa!
 
Hi, Im running some errands, mailing a well deserved letter ;) but will be back and checking in off and on. Just fyi I found Honey worked far better with Gussie. I could stir it into his LC food of choice and a) he tolerated it whereas he HATED the Karo and b) because it stays with the system longer it helped even him out as I stayed the drop. Mixing with the LC gives the system something to ride on after the sugar boost starts to wear off.
Karo was a fast bump and an equally fast wear off for Gussie and it was a bear to clean up from where he flung it in disgust.:p
ETA you are in expert hands with the folks onboard your post now!
headed out BBL
any particular honey? when we left the vet after Dx with all of his instructions and stuff to buy...karo was on the list, but , of course I had to go and get "organic" corn syrup..cuz that matters o_O
 
lol you had me cracking up... i leave my old thread open every night cause hunting for it in the am just frustrates me lol... so i totally loved this post.. hopefully her numbers stay low and she surfs in the blues...hope you find a few minutes to close your eyes :bighug::bighug:
 
lol you had me cracking up... i leave my old thread open every night cause hunting for it in the am just frustrates me lol... so i totally loved this post.. hopefully her numbers stay low and she surfs in the blues...hope you find a few minutes to close your eyes :bighug::bighug:
LOL is right!!! Not kidding...I have at least 35 tabs open on my laptop at all times. Let's see...about seven are FDMB right now. I am just not functioning in the morning, especially before coffee. They laugh at Starbucks because I can't even place my order before coffee, and all I am ordering is coffee (no fancy drinks here). Thank goo ness they know me and just hand it to me when I walk in. I bookmark the crap out of stuff, too, but recently lost all bookmarks when Microsoft forced an update on me (lost other stuff too, but that's all recoverable, mostly). I am sure that there are more efficient tricks and tips to posting and surfing here, but I still feel very awkward and I don't want to look like a total dweeb!

Oh, and my Taffy is a boy...sshhh, don't tell him he has a girlie name! His first mama gave it to him.
 
Last edited:
any particular honey? when we left the vet after Dx with all of his instructions and stuff to buy...karo was on the list, but , of course I had to go and get "organic" corn syrup..cuz that matters o_O
Whatever you like!;):joyful: That way when it gets all over you it's tasty to clean up!:)
I found this really yummy honey at Tjmaxx
IMG_2807.JPG
Gussie likes it ok too!
 
LOL is right!!! Not kidding...I have at least 35 tabs open on my laptop at all times. Let's see...about seven are FDMB right now. I am just not functioning in the morning, especially before coffee. They laugh at Starbucks because I can't even place my order before coffee, and all I am ordering is coffee (no fancy drinks here). Thank goo ness they know me and just hand it to me when I walk in. I bookmark the crap out of stuff, too, but recently lost all bookmarks when Microsoft forced an update on me (lost other stuff too, but that's all recoverable, mostly). I am sure that there are more efficient tricks and tips to posting and surfing here, but I still feel very awkward and I don't want to look like a total dweeb!

Oh, and my Taffy is a boy...sshhh, don't tell him he has a girlie name! His first mama gave it to him.
Dweebs welcome here!:bighug:;)
 
Had to leave after the +5. Left him a snack (LC with a little HC gravy) and just got home. +10.5 at 95

Another long night? Suggestions on PM dose?
 
Can you monitor and do you have plenty of test strips and MC and HC food? If so I would shoot. Shoot low to stay low and that said, I can not stay with you tonight although I would love to. Taffy is looking good!v
 
Here's what I am thinking .....he had a great cycle last night with lots of greens. He seems to have cleared the bounce quickly and will probably bounce upwards but it not....you need to be available to test and steer.
 
ok, well eek!! PMPS 57 and then I rechecked with new test strips and was 61

Eating now. His raw mix plus some FF pate and tsp of gravy from gravy lovers. More gravy?

Shoot????
@Chris & China
 
Last edited:
We usually stay to one thread per day - just change the subject title to reflect the current situation. It allows us to track what happened the rest of the day too.

As for tonight, can you monitor, do you have strips and HC now?
 
If it's been 1/2 hour since that last test, I would test again. However, next time, please do NOT feed. Any number you get now will be food influenced. But depending on how he is, you may be able to shoot, or maybe stall another 1/2 hour and test again.
 
Remember to get those new numbers up in your thread title, they tell quickly what Taffy is doing so folks can jump on if you need help
 
Am I doing this right? Everything, I mean. Posting, etc.
I shot Taffy at 8:28 am this morning...he is due at +12 in 10 minutes
He ate ten minutes ago. I tested at +11 and then prepared food and fed. Normally I would get the dose ready while he's eating and then shoot at +12
I'm trying to read and understand the dealing with low numbers, I printed it out yesterday, but it's not sinking in
 
I'm falling apart a little. A lot actually. No sleep last night and now i dont get any of this
ok testing again now last was about 40 minutes ago
I don't know how to put these on the spreadsheet im sorry
 
Breathe first...it's ok. You are doing fine, font freak out :bighug:
You want to get a test in right before they get their insulin. The reason you do that test before they eat is because you want it to be as accurate as you can for the BG you are shooting. Eating boosts the number, why you can steer up out of low numbers when you need to.
So the rule of thumb is no food 2 hrs before that preshot. So basically none past +10 before you shoot. You are ok..
 
Don't worry about "getting things right" for now as far as the spreadsheet. We can show you what to do later. For now, get that test and it'll help us decide what to do next.
 
You should be shooting when? If I'm reading right he would have food onboard for about 20 min at regular shoot time right? @Wendy&Neko would it be a benefit to delay and test then shoot in this situation?
 
tested 61
sorry I fed him, thought i was supposed to if I was going to go ahead and shoot, I'm really confused now.

have i been doing this backwards all along?

I'm so lost and my brain is shutting down. sorry, hormones on board too
 
Sounds like in essence you did everything in the right order you just did it an hour early?? Except for not shooting which is being figured out.
Hang in there, they will help sort it out..
 
And the 61 is influenced with gravy fed at +11. The normal way of doing things is to test, feed, then shoot - all within about 10-15 minutes. Since you fed before hand, the PMPS test is influenced by food.

I think you have a couple of options tonight. The first is to skip tonight. He will be high in the morning but it is what it is. The second option is to wait and keep testing every 1/2 hour to see if you can catch when the numbers zoom up, then shoot. However, if you do that option - your shot time tomorrow will be delayed by however much you delay tonight. What do you feel like doing?
 
Can you stall for an hour Julie? So it's been 2 hours since Taffy got any food?

It means being able to adjust your shot time in the morning
 
I don't get how all of it fits in in that last 12th hour.
my pattern has been, get up, AM pre test, then feed, then dose. I counted the +1, +2, +3, etc from the time of dose, not the time of pre test. so the 12th hour is the preshot/ feed hour, is this wrong? my whole sheet is wrong then
 
We usually do the Test/Feed/Shoot in 5-10 minutes Julie.....so you Test to make sure they're high enough, Feed to make sure they're willing to eat and Shoot.....if the TEST is too low, you STALL, don't feed and ask for help (until you learn more about it)

A few minutes one way or the other is OK
 
Can you stall for an hour Julie? So it's been 2 hours since Taffy got any food?

It means being able to adjust your shot time in the morning
He ate less than an hour ago. I'm getting very confused. I have tested more than usual. the 57 was supposed to be the PMPS and then a recheck after the food about 40 minutes
 
Honestly, I have another work day tomorrow and will be out for more than six hours. I need sleep tonight. I feel a migraine brewing and I'm emotional so I had better skip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top