Poe's Numbers- Advice Please -

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by KarensPoe, May 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KarensPoe

KarensPoe Member

2. Simon'sMommy

Simon'sMommy Well-Known Member

Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Although I am not an expert, since he is rising and not falling, I think two hours for the next test is fine unless he seems off to you in any way. Just make sure to NOT give him any insulin and just let him eat the way he normally does. My kitty never scarfs down food either. He kind of grazes and comes back to it every once in a while which can be maddening and make me worry after I give him his shot.

I am glad that you took my advice and started a new thread. Hang in there and I am here if you need anything and I will try my best to help if I can. As I said, I don't know much about Lantus, but I do know that your numbers are in the safe range but still should be monitored closely.

3. Deb & Wink

Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

No, feed him what he will eat. Let him graze since that is his current eating style. Take the food up the normal 2 hours before the pre-shot. With out extra insulin from a shot, no need to be concerned about a hypo.

That tells you there is more insulin available to help process the food, he is not starving all the time, his pancreas is healing and he is doing much better.

Agree, No sense in doing a curve today. Since you did not give any insulin, you would not gather any useful data.

How are the 5P's today? peeing, pooping, purring, preening and playing?

Keep an eye out for a bounce later today. We'll go from there.

Woo-hoo! Poe is feeling better! Yeah!!!!! Go Poe.

4. Simon'sMommy

Simon'sMommy Well-Known Member

thank goodness! Deb is here now so I can rest easy. I was out of my element here but hoping someone who knows something more than newbie me would come on soon. I am glad that Poe is doing so well. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

5. KarensPoe