Previous Condo

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes, I just went and read everything from the previous thread. I would get a +4 ... I don't see any likely drama coming so it's a good reference for gathering data.

In reading your history, I too agree that there is something else going on and it's not the insulin.

I would explore the blood chemistry issues, and the high and low issues , what's causing it and how to get it closer to a normal range.

I also can share a story about my Shadow when we started insulin. I too thought something wasn't right. Every little blip is suddenly on the radar because we are watching so very hard, trying so hard to make it better.

Early on, Shadow would get her shot, and then curl up on her tower and sleep.... and she slept hard.... more soundly than I had ever seen her sleep....
It was as if she hadn't slept for years ( cat naps only) and was finally getting real sleep. I thought something was wrong..... but over time as her numbers got more normal , it went away.... Maybe it was just part of the healing time with having the insulin on board..... But it sounds similar to what you describe.
It didn't last all day tho'. It was a few hours of very deep sleep....
 
Thanks R! I’ll get a +4 tonight. And thank you for reading through everything. It’s a lot info in a short time.

I’m glad your little Shadow rested well and that her numbers eventually got more normal. With Merlin though, I fear it may be something more sinister. He actually goes down, sometimes within a few minutes of his shot. It got more scary at the higher doses, but we don’t think it’s the insulin now. Hindsight is 20/20. We think this started before the insulin, where he would lay on his side with his eyes opened and stare right thru us. At times we though he was dying or in distress and twice we had him in the ER. This week he had a physical evaluation by our Internist to check his reflexes - touching his body to see if he moved appropriately, putting her hand in front of his eyes to see if he blinked and followed her finger, shining a light in his eyes, softly scratching above his tail to see if she got the ‘elevator hiney’ ;-), picking up his paw to see how he placed it back down. He reacted appropriately. Then she cradled him in her arms and he didn’t move, just staring up at her. Merlin is not THAT cat. The assistant was talking loud and the door behind them was partially opened with lots of noise and he was perfectly still, flicking his tail just a bit. She said he was ‘dull’. That’s the only word she could use to describe him. She said he could possibly have a tumor in his brain. This could also be the acromegaly which is why we were there - to get blood drawn. Something is definitely off. I would LOVE that it’s diabetes related and he just feels crummy and tired, but I fear differently. We will find out this piece of the puzzle late next week. For now I keep working on the bg numbers and give him anything he wants (which is usually me).

Pleasant dreams.
 
I was hoping to see more condos for Merlin. You did a good job linking his previous condo in this one but your subject line doesn’t tell us anything :)

It would be good to start a new one today. The subject line would be:

8/22 Merlin AMPS 361

If you get any other tests, you can add them, for example:
8/22 Merlin AMPS 361 +4 322

I made the +4 322 up, obviously, but you get the gist. If you don’t see any numbers below 300 with tonight’s dose, I’d increase his dose tomorrow to 3u. It doesn’t sound like he’s feeling any better. :confused::confused:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top