Question about dosing

Stephanie91215

Member Since 2018
My girl has been on Lantus since 01/29. Having a tough time finding her perfect dose. She has been on .50 unit for 7 shots and has not had much movement in her numbers until today. She has stayed in the blue for most of the day and her pmps was 116. I decided to give her .25. Was this the right move? Thanks for any input.
 
Was this the right move? Thanks for any input.

Not necessarily, but it's OK

Lantus dosing is different from Vetsulin. It's based on how LOW it takes them, not the Pre-shot like Vetsulin. It also craves consistency so it's important to give the same dose both AM and PM

However, at first, if you get a Pre-shot under 150, we suggest you stall, don't feed and post for help. Retest in 20-30 minutes to see if the number comes up without the influence of food. That's a good sign that the last shot is wearing off and it's OK to go ahead and feed/shoot.

Eventually that number comes down even further. Those of us doing Tight Regulation get to the point where we'll shoot the scheduled dose as long as our cats are above 50.

With you shooting at a lower number than you're used to, I'd plan on getting a +1 and +2 just to make sure that IF you need to intervene, you can do it early in the cycle.
 
Oh that makes sense. I just got a +2 and she is 101. I plan on getting a +4 to make sure she is okay for the night. Do you think I need to be concerned that she is dropping even with food?
 
101 is pretty much the same as 116....remember, there's a 20% variance to take into consideration.

Hopefully this will be a nice dose and getting down into better numbers won't set off a huge bounce!

I'd definitely get that +4 though and let's see how she's doing.
 
So just got a +4 she is 115. I have some fresh food out so hopefully she will be good through the evening. Do you think I should keep with .50 or lower the dose to 0.25?
 
Have you read through the different dosing methods? Tight Regulation and Start Low, Go Slow?

Have you decided which one you want to follow? (you can always change later if you want)

It can make a difference in the advice we give.

For now, I'd stick with the .5.....Even on SLGS, you don't reduce the dose until they drop below 90 on a human meter. On TR, we don't reduce until they drop below 50 on a human meter.
 
Also, on your spreadsheet, it would be helpful if you'd make a definite line when you switched insulin so it stands out.

If you look at China's spreadsheet (in my signature) at line 17 (between 1/9 and 1/10) you'll see where I made the line a totally different color so it stands out.
 
Back
Top