Questions about usage of Lantus

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tina & Sammy, Jan 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tina & Sammy

Tina & Sammy Well-Known Member

I was just reading the How tos about Lantus and it specifically states not to shake or roll the vial. My vet told me not to shake it but did tell me to roll it or twist it in my fingers a few times before withdrawaling the unit.

Also it says not to inject excess insulin back in the vial because of a silicon coating inside the syringe. HELP! I have been doing this for over two months. My vet told me to draw in more insulin that was necessary and then back it off back into the vial.

What should I do?

The liquid doesn't appear to be compromised. Is there some way to test it to make sure it is still good. I would really hate to have to get more, especially since I have used less than half the vial. And at over $100 a vial that could be expensive.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Tina

2. Ronnie & Luna

Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

Hi there

nope - no shaking, no rolling, no tossing it in the air...
    pretty much everything u need to know about proper care of Lantus is up in the information stickie up top, here is the link.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151

Do u home test? If you do, you would be tracking BG levels throughout the day...
    If you don't home test, then you are
    1) shooting insulin blindly which can be very unsafe
    and 2) you don't know how it is working on your cat without data collected by home testing.

Please continue to read through the stickies up top, as mentioned, familiarize yourself with how Lantus works.

Have a great day!

3. Monique & Spooky

Monique & Spooky Well-Known Member

Hi there and welcome!

Don't worry to much, I think many have done those things without knowing it. Now, you know so you can change your habits!